Canada’s national mail service has unveiled a limited edition stamp series to celebrate the Canadian Grand Prix’s fiftieth anniversary.

The collection was unveiled by three-time World Champion Sir Jackie Stewart and Joann Villeneuve, widow of Gilles Villeneuve.

The five-stamp series features the event’s most successful drivers over its five decades: Sir Jackie Stewart, Gilles Villeneuve, Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher and Lewis Hamilton.

Between them, the quintet has claimed 16 World Championship titles, 220 Grands Prix victories – including 17 in Canada alone – 399 podiums and 216 pole positions.

Schumacher is the Canadian Grand Prix’s most successful driver, with a record seven victories to his credit. Mercedes driver Hamilton could claim his sixth Canadian winner’s trophy with victory at next month’s race at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Stewart and Senna each won two Grands Prix on Canadian soil, with the former earning his victories at Mosport. The late Villeneuve, after whom the current Canadian Grand Prix venue is named, claimed the final Formula 1 victory of his all-too-short career and remains the only Canadian to win on home soil.

The stamp collection will be exclusively sold in a booklet and can be purchased at

The Canadian Formula 1 Grand Prix takes place on the weekend of 09-11 June.

Images via Canada Post

This week’s coverage is proudly brought to you by the forthcoming release of:
Black Sails
Contact us for advertising opportunities by clicking here.

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.