PREMA’s Charles Leclerc asserted his dominance over Qualifying in Austria after claiming his fifth F2 pole position in a row. The Ferrari junior easily set the fastest time on both sets of tyres to extend his championship lead to 46 points.

The Monegasque had a close call at the session’s start as he stalled while waiting for the green light at the end of the pit lane but he quickly overturned it with a pair of blistering laps, both quick enough for pole. The quickest of which, a 1:13.396 was nearly 4 tenths quicker than his nearest competition, MP Motorsport’s Sergio Sette Câmara.

Sette Câmara’s session ended in the gravel trap at Turn 8 as he pushed to close the gap towards the end but he still initially qualified second-fastest, before being excluded from qualifying.

The other PREMA driver, Antonio Fuoco, had his best qualifying session since the opening round in Bahrain as he initially qualified third but inherits Sette Câmara’s second place on the grid, making it an all PREMA front row.

Alexander Albon returns from his injury to start Saturday’s race from third ahead of Leclerc’s main title rival Oliver Rowland in fourth while Nobuharu Matsushita starts from P5.

McLaren junior Nyck de Vries continues his run of form as he is set to start from P6 ahead of Luca Ghiotto in 7th, Nichols Latifi in 8th and Norman Nato in 9th, while Ralph Boschung completes the top ten.

The Feature Race, to be held over 40 laps, will begin at 15:35 local time (GMT +2).

Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Charles Leclerc PREMA Racing 1:13.396
2. Antonio Fuoco PREMA Racing 1:13.776 + 0.380
3. Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix 1:13.888 + 0.492
4. Oliver Rowland DAMS 1:13.903 + 0.507
5. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 1:13.922 + 0.526
6. Nyck de Vries Rapax 1:14.034 + 0.638
7. Luca Ghiotto Russian Time 1:14.180 + 0.784
8. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:14.193 + 0.797
9. Norman Nato Pertamina Arden 1:14.203 + 0.807
10. Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 1:14.363 + 0.967
11. Louis Delétraz Racing Engineering 1:14.377 + 0.981
12. Jordan King MP Motorsport 1:14.384 + 0.988
13. Sergio Canamasas Rapax 1:14.489 + 1.093
14. Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:14.534 + 1.138
15. Sean Gelael Pertamina Arden 1:14.555 + 1.159
16. Raffaele Marciello Trident 1:14.643 + 1.247
17. Robert Vișoiu Campos Racing 1:14.653 + 1.257
18. Nabil Jeffri Trident 1:14.672 + 1.276
19. Gustav Malja Racing Engineering 1:15.121 + 1.725
EXC. Sergio Sette Câmara* MP Motorsport Excluded

Post-Qualifying Penalties:

  • Sergio Sette Câmara – who provisionally qualified second-fastest – was excluded from qualifying for having less that the required 1 litre of fuel in his car to provide the minimum fuel quantity for post-scrutineering sampling. He will start the Feature Race from the back of the grid.

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8