Charles Leclerc dominated proceedings on Saturday’s feature race of the British GP in Silverstone. The PREMA driver started from pole and only briefly looked troubled when a smoking rear end threatened to end his race with engine problems.

After an aborted start, Leclerc held the lead at the second start as Norma Nato muscled past a slow-starting Rowland to take P2. Six laps in and already all of the option runners were pitting for prime tyres while Leclerc opted to stay out when his car appeared to smoke heavily mid-way through the lap, prompting an immediate pit stop the next lap. This turned out to be benign and the Monegasque re-emerged ahead of most his direct rivals, with only those who started on prime tyres ahead.

As Leclerc closed in on the yet-to-pit queue ahead, he also began to open a gap to Norman Nato and Oliver Rowland who were tussling for P3. With 8 laps to go, Leclerc’s car shed some weight when his wing mirror bizarrely flew off his machine as he hunted down Nobuharu Matsushita, before the Japanese finally made his mandatory pit-stop, giving the lead back to Leclerc.

The Ferrari junior took the chequered flag and his fifth victory of 2017, some 9 seconds ahead of Nato who held his own in front of Rowland as the Briton took a podium on home soil.

Artem Markelov was next across the line in fourth ahead of the mercurial Canamasas in fifth and Luca Ghiotto who battled his way in the end to sixth. Behind them Jordan King only managed seventh ahead of Nicholas Latifi, who takes reversed-grid pole by finishing 8th while Sean Gelael and Nobuharu Matsushita completed the top ten.

The Sprint Race, to be held over 21 laps, starts on Sunday at 09:20 local time (GMT+1).

2017 FIA Formula 2 Championship Race of Britain – Feature Race Final Classification (28 laps*)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Charles Leclerc PREMA Racing 28 49:23.075
2. Norman Nato Pertamina Arden 28 + 8.866
3. Oliver Rowland DAMS 28 + 9.605
4. Artem Markelov Russian Time 28 + 17.743
5. Sergio Canamasas Rapax 28 + 18.715
6. Luca Ghiotto Russian Time 28 + 24.284
7. Jordan King MP Motorsport 28 + 26.498
8. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 28 + 27.805
9. Sean Gelael Pertamina Arden 28 + 28.904
10. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 28 + 34.560
11. Ralph Boschung Campos Racing 28 + 44.764
12. Louis Delétraz Racing Engineering 28 + 46.536
13. Sergio Sette Câmara MP Motorsport 28 + 47.050
14. Gustav Malja Racing Engineering 28 + 50.673
15. Nabil Jeffri Trident 28 + 56.457
16. Antonio Fuoco PREMA Racing 28 + 1:01.335
17. Robert Vișoiu Campos Racing 28 + 1:09.543
18. Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix 28 + 1:12.549
19. Callum Ilott Trident 27 1 lap behind
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNS. Nyck de Vries Rapax Electrical
Fastest Lap Team / Entry Lap Time
Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 23 1:42.512

* Race distance reduced from 29 laps to 28 laps after first start was aborted.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • None

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

This week’s coverage is proudly brought to you by the forthcoming release of:
Drone Banner
Contact us for advertising opportunities by clicking here.

The following two tabs change content below.

Ahmad Shallouf

Contributing Writer at MotorsportM8