The list of drivers set to receive a grid penalty at this weekend’s Italian Grand Prix keeps growing, with Nico Hūlkenberg and Jolyon Palmer taking the tally of penalised drivers to six.

The two works Renault drivers have joined Red Bull Racing duo Daniel Ricciardo (25 places), Max Verstappen (now 20 places), Toro Rosso’s Carlos Sainz Jr (10 places) and Fernando Alonso (35 places) in taking on new power unit elements in excess of the four they are allowed to run penalty-free over the course of the season.

Hūlkenberg will serve a 10-place grid penalty for running a new MGU-H, while teammate Palmer (pictured) will drop 15 places for fitting a new Turbocharger and MGU-H.

Verstappen was originally slated for a 15-place grid penalty but will now move back a further five spots after taking a new Turbocharger ahead of Saturday’s rain-hit final practice session.

With only Sainz’s teammate Daniil Kvyat going penalty-free at this stage, five of the six Renault runners will be starting near the back of the grid. Given Renault’s well-documented horsepower deficiency to the power units produced by Mercedes and Ferrari, the timing is certainly tactical given the next Grand Prix takes place at Singapore’s Marina Bay street circuit which is far less dependent on straight-line speed.

Image via Renault Sport F1

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.