DS Virgin Racing will have an all-British line-up for the 2017-18 Formula E Championship season. The team will field regular driver Sam Bird alongside Alex Lynn for the upcoming season, with Lynn replacing two-time FIA World Touring Car champion José María López on a multi-year deal.

Lynn won the GP3 Series championship title in 2014 before graduating to the GP2 Series in 2015. In two seasons in Formula 1’s feeder championship, he claimed five wins and a further four podium finishes, finishing sixth overall in each year. During this time he also held a development driver role with the Williams F1 team, but was unable to land a full-time race seat for 2017.

He instead moved across to the World Endurance Championship’s LMP2 class, winning the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

He was also hired as DS Virgin’s official Formula E reserve driver and had a one-off outing for the team at the New York ePrix while López was absent due to a conflicting World Endurance Championship appearance for Toyota.

Lynn impressed from the outset by claiming pole position on debut at an event where teammate Bird claimed a clean sweep of victories over the double-header weekend.

“I am over the moon at being promoted to a full-time drive with DS Virgin Racing,” he said.

“Having worked very closely with them since January this year, it has been a genuine pleasure to learn from such a fantastic group of high quality engineers and to integrate myself into their set-up.

“Indeed, I have been made to feel very welcome throughout their organisation.

“I would specifically like to thank [team boss] Alex Tai for not only giving me the chance to make my series debut in New York, but for subsequently promoting me to this full-time race seat.

“I am currently enjoying helping the team to further develop the car and intend to fully repay everyone’s faith in me on track next season.”

Image via FIA Formula E Championship


The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.