Motorsport will return to Switzerland for the first time in over 60 years. The country’s largest city Zurich will play host to a round of the FIA Formula E Championship, series organisers have confirmed.

The Alpine country has not hosted an FIA-sanctioned single-seater race after motor racing was outlawed in the wake of the Le Mans 24 Hours disaster in 1955 when driver Pierre Levegh and 83 spectators were killed.

In 2015, however, Swiss laws were changed to permit fully electric racing which enabled the Formula E Championship to explore staging an ePrix.

The inaugural Zurich ePrix is slated for 10 June, the final round of the European leg of the season before double-header events in New York and Montréal.

“The calendar for next season is shaping up to be one of the most exciting yet with four new venues – including Zurich.” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“I’m thrilled that Formula E is bringing racing back to Switzerland for the first time in over 60 years.

“This wouldn’t have been possible without the core fundamentals of Formula E – driving the electric revolution and sustainable mobility.”

Organisers have also confirmed that Berlin’s disused Tempelhof Airport will again play host to the city’s ePrix, with the location having previously been listed as ‘TBA’ when the provisional 2017-18 calendar was revealed earlier this year.

2017-18 FIA Formula E Championship Calendar
Date Event Location
02-03 Oct 2017 hk Hong Kong ePrix* Hong Kong Central Harbourfront Circuit, Hong Kong
13 Jan 2018 ma Marrakesh ePrix Circuit Moulay El Hassan, Marrakech, Morocco
03 Feb 2018 cl Santiago ePrix Santiago street circuit, Santiago, Chile
03 Mar 2018 mx Mexico City ePrix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City, Mexico
17 Mar 2018 br São Paulo ePrix São Paulo street circuit, São Paulo, Brazil
14 Apr 2018 it Rome ePrix Circuto Cittadino dell’EUR, Rome, Italy
28 Apr 2018 fr Paris ePrix Les Invalides street circuit, Paris, France
19 May 2018 de Berlin ePrix Tempelhof Airport Circuit, Berlin, Germany
10 June 2018 mx Zurich ePrix TBA, Zurich, Switzerland
14-15 July 2018 us New York ePrix* Brooklyn Street Circuit, New York City, United States
28-29 July 2018 ca Montréal ePrix* TBA, Montréal, Canada

* Denotes double-header event

Image via Durmo Tours

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.