Endurance racing star André Lotterer will make his Formula E Championship debut after signing on as Jean-Éric Vergne’s teammate at the Techeetah team for the 2017-18 season.

Lotterer, boasts three 24 Hours of Le Mans victories, two Super GT titles and the FIA World Endurance Championship crown to his CV, as well as success in open-wheel racing. The 35-year-old won the Formula Nippon title in 2011 and made a one-off Formula 1 outing with the Caterham team at the Belgian Grand Prix in 2014.

Lotterer is the second factory Porsche LMP1 driver to move to the Formula E Championship for the forthcoming season, following in the footsteps of teammate Neel Jani who has signed for Dragon Racing.

“I’m honoured and proud to join Techeetah to make my Formula E debut,” said Lotterer.

“Formula E has been the most exciting motor racing series in recent years. Techeetah made a very big impression last season beating a number of manufacturer teams.

“I’m looking forward to working with Jean-Éric Vergne and everyone in Techeetah to start this new chapter in my racing career.”

The Chinese team had an impressive debut 2016-17 season in the Formula E Championship, with Vergne claiming four second-placed finishes before finally breaking through with his and the team’s maiden ePrix victory at the season-ending round in Montréal.

The team’s managing director, Ivan Yim, believes that the team’s driving line-up gives it the right foundation to enjoy further success.

“Jean-Éric Vergne and Andre Lotterer will form one of the strongest driver line-ups in Formula E,” he said.

“I’m sure our two drivers will push each other to new levels of performance.

“André’s track record and experience with some of motorsport’s most significant factory teams brings immense value as we push our own development in both the medium and long-term.”

Image via LAT Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.