The rebranded NIO Formula E team will field Oliver Turvey and Luca Filippi in its driving line-up for the 2017-18 championship season, with the latter replacing the Jaguar-bound Nelson Piquet Jr.

While Turvey has raced for the Chinese team – formerly known under its NextEv guise – since 2015, Filippi will be making his debut in the all-electric championship.

The 32-year-old Italian (pictured above left) has been something of a journeyman after a seven-year stint in the GP2 Series spanning 2006-2012 where he was championship runner-up in 2011. He had a handful of IndyCar Series outings between 2013-16, peaking with a second-placed finish in 2015.

“It is a new electric world for me and a new racing system oriented to the future that is full of talent and clean technology, so I am extremely excited to become a part of it,” Filippi said of his new drive.

“During our first test in Spain I immediately had a great feeling with the car and all the people in the team.

“I am very much looking forward to working with Oliver and [team boss] Gérry [Hughes] and starting this journey with everyone in the NIO Formula E team.”

2017/18 NIO Formula E team car

The 2017/18 NIO Formula E team car – dubbed the NIO 003 – features a slightly revised livery scheme.

Thirty-year-old Turvey (pictured above right), a former test driver at McLaren, will be hoping to break out of the midfield after two full-time seasons with the team where a pair of sixth-placed finishes are his best results to-date.

“I would like to thank NIO for their continued belief and support in me,” the Englishman said.

“I believe we have grown together over the last two seasons and we have been able to make some good progress together.

“The whole NIO team has been working extremely hard on the new season 4 car and in the development testing I have felt some positive changes in the chassis and powertrain. I am confident the team has made a step forward.”

Image via LAT Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.