The 2018 FIA Formula 2 Championship will field an expanded entry list of up to twelve teams. British-based teams Carlin Motorsport and Fortec Motorsports, along with Czech outfit Charouz Racing System have been added to the entry list, while current competitors Rapax and Russian Time are set to exit.

Of this year’s teams, Arden, ART Grand Prix, Campos, DAMS, MP Motorsport, Prema, Racing Engineering and Trident are all confirmed to field two-car entries in 2018.

A name known across a range of motorsport championships, Carlin Motorsport will make its return to Formula 2 competition, having previously raced under its GP2 Series guise between 2011 and 2016. In six seasons of competition, the team fielded future F1 graduates such as Max Chilton, Rio Haryanto, Felipe Nasr and Jolyon Palmer, claiming runner-up positions in the Teams’ Championship standings in 2013 and 2014. Its final two years in the GP2 Series saw it tumble down the standings, finishing in last place in 2016.

Fortec and Charouz will both make their Formula 2 Championship debuts next year, having been frontrunning outfits in the Formula V8 3.5 championship which closed its doors at the end of the 2017 season.

A twelfth team entry spot remains vacant amid interest from a variety of teams.

That could leave the door open for either Rapax or Russian Time, which have competed in F2/GP2 since 2010 and 2013 respectively, each taking the Teams’ title in their debut campaigns.

“We’re happy to announce our line-up for next season,” said Formula 2 CEO Bruno Michel.

“We have decided to remain loyal to the majority of our existing teams who know the Championship well and are strong assets to nurture young drivers.

“We are pleased to welcome Carlin, Fortec and Charouz to the grid. They will get their first taste of F2 early 2018 at the new car shakedown which date will be announced in the coming weeks.

“We have received high quality requests from many teams who wish to join our championship. Therefore, we keep open the possibility to add a twelfth team to our line-up before the end of this year.”

Next year’s championship will see the field compete in identical Dallara F2 2018 chassis’, complete with the ‘Halo’ cockpit protection system, powered by a V6 turbo engine developed by Mecachrome.

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.