Abu Dhabi Feature race winner Oliver Rowland has been disqualified, promoting Artem Markelov to the top step of the podium.

The pair had staged an exciting battle during Saturday night’s floodlit race, with Rowland overhauling the Russian to claim his third race win of the season, however the Englishman’s car subsequently failed post-race scrutineering checks.

The underfloor plank on the DAMS driver’s car was found to be below the minimum required thickness, forcing officials to exclude him from the classification.

In a further blow to Rowland, the loss of the race win to Markelov means that the RUSSIAN TIME driver will now claim runner-up spot in the Formula 2 Drivers’ Championship standings. The pair is now split by 17 points in Markelov’s favour, which is too big a gap for Rowland to overhaul with Sunday afternoon’s Sprint Race to run.

Rowland wasn’t the only driver to be excluded, however.

Third-placed finisher Antonio Fuoco was also stripped of his podium finish when scrutineers found his front tyres were below the minimum specified pressure.

The Italian driver had been gifted third place at the finish line by PREMA Racing teammate and newly-crowned champion Charles Leclerc, but his exclusion now means Leclerc moves from fourth to second.

In a further bonus for the RUSSIAN TIME team, Markelov’s teammate Luca Ghiotto is promoted to third place.

Nyck de Vries, Nicholas Latifi, Nobuharu Matsushita, Alexander Albon and Jordan King are all promoted two places respectively, with King now inheriting pole position for the reversed-grid Sprint Race.

Promoted into the points are Sérgio Sette Câmara and Louis Delétraz.

2017 FIA Formula 2 Championship Race of Abu Dhabi – Final Feature Race Results (31 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Artem Markelov Russian Time 31 59:34.767
2. Charles Leclerc PREMA Racing 31 + 16.265
3. Luca Ghiotto Russian Time 31 + 25.438
4. Nyck de Vries Racing Engineering 31 + 27.181
5. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 31 + 29.967
6. Nobuharu Matsushita ART Grand Prix 31 + 31.974
7. Alexander Albon ART Grand Prix 31 + 34.618
8. Jordan King MP Motorsport 31 + 40.639
9. Sergio Sette Câmara MP Motorsport 31 + 43.305
10. Louis Delétraz Rapax 31 + 52.356
11. Gustav Malja Racing Engineering 31 + 1:01.198
12. Álex Palou Campos Racing 31 + 1:04.596
13. Norman Nato Pertamina Arden 31 + 1:12.209
14. Santino Ferrucci Trident 31 + 1:21.496
15. Sean Gelael Pertamina Arden 31 + 1:23.795
16. Roberto Merhi Rapax 30 + 1 lap
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNF. Lando Norris Campos Racing 5 Engine
DNF. Nabil Jeffri Trident 0 Driveshaft
DQ. Oliver Rowland DAMS Disqualified
DQ. Antonio Fuoco PREMA Racing Disqualified

Post-Race Penalties:

  • Oliver Rowland – who was provisionally classified in 1st place – was disqualified for an overly worn skid block.
  • Antonio Fuoco – who was provisionally classified in 3rd place – was disqualified for his front tyres being below the minimum specified tyre pressure.

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.