The last few remaining seats of the 2018 Supercars Championship grid are rapidly being filled up. Will Davison has been revealed as the driver of the new 23Red Racing outfit, which takes over from the ailing LD Motorsport operation after a buy-in by businessman Phil Munday.

Davison will pilot an ex-Prodrive Racing Ford Falcon FGX, believed to be the one that Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway piloted to victory at the Sandown 500.

“I’m really excited to help be a part of building up a new team, having some fun and really surprising some people,” said Davison, a winner of 19 Supercars races including the 2009 and 2016 Bathurst 1000.

“I love Phil’s [Munday] vision and really like the way he’s going about things. It’s a big challenge ahead and I can’t wait to get started.”

Davison looked set to be left in the Supercars wilderness after a falling out with TEKNO Autosports, with whom he has spent the past two seasons racing. The driver and team peaked with a brilliant Bathurst 1000 win last year, but relations have soured over allegations Davison wasn’t getting paid by the team.

The 35-year-old has a rather chequered history of switching teams at the wrong time. Since 2006, he has raced full-time with Dick Johnson Racing (2006-8), Holden Racing Team (2009-10), Ford Performance Racing (2011-13), Erebus Motorsport (2014-15) and TEKNO (2016-17).

23Red Racing’s forebear, LD Motorsport, battled through 2017 with poor reliability and a revolving door of drivers. Munday’s rescue deal and the switch to the ex-PRA Falcon could be the game changer the squad desperately needs, combined with Davison’s considerable experience and success.

“I’m honoured to have Will as our first ever driver of 23Red Racing,” added team co-founder Munday.

“I have faith he will deliver us into an amazing year and I look forward to a long and successful career with him.”

Munday confirmed that the team has secured a three-year major sponsorship deal, which would be revealed next week alongside its 2018 livery.

Davison’s switch to 23Red Racing leaves Prodrive Racing and TEKNO Autosport with the last remaining seats to be confirmed for next year’s grid.

Image via LAT Images

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.