If you thought the 2017 Formula 1 World Championship was a big one, get ready for the longest season in history in 2018.

For the first time, the championship will be contested over 21 rounds; pushing the teams and drivers to stay on top of their game over the eight months of competition.

As it has been since 2011 and for a majority of the time since its inaugural race in 1996, Melbourne’s Albert Park Circuit will again host the opening round of the championship.

The opening rounds have been shuffled around compared to previous seasons with Bahrain holding the second round of the season ahead of China the weekend after; Azerbaijan then backs up two weeks later as the final fly-away event before the European season begins.

Again following tradition, the Spanish Grand Prix at Catalunya will be the first race of the year for the teams on “home soil” in Europe, heralding the first run of races where major car upgrades will be implemented.

Monaco remains in its now almost expected position as the sixth round of the season, held on the last weekend of May just hours before the Indianapolis 500 gets underway in the United States.

The Canadian Grand Prix at Montréal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve provides a quick break from the European circuits before the paddock returns to France for the first Grand Prix held to at Paul Ricard since 1990 and the first on French soil since Magny-Cours played host in 2008.

1990 French Grand Prix

The French Grand Prix is back on the calendar at Circuit Paul Ricard, ending a near 30-year absence on the schedule.

Austria will follow with its race again in the Styrian mountains at the Red Bull Ring, the second highest altitude race on the calendar.

Silverstone will come a week later for the British Grand Prix, the home race for a majority of the teams who are based in the UK.

Another circuit returns to the calendar in 2018, this time it’s Hockenheim; holding the German Grand Prix on a bi-annual basis.

The final three European races of the year stay as Hungary, the Belgian Grand Prix coming nearly a month later after the summer break, followed by the home of the Tifosi in Italy.

Singapore will yet again host the first round of the run home to the end of the championship with the paddock making the big trek to Russia which replaces the Malaysian Grand Prix’s position on the championship schedule.

The Japanese Grand Prix will yet again be held at Suzuka in the last Asian race of the year, closely followed by the two remaining North American races at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas then the Mexican Grand Prix at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez.

Brazil holds its consistent spot as the penultimate round of the championship at Interlagos before the final round of the season at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi seals off the year.

With the season beginning in Australia on the 25th of March and wrapping up on the 25th of November under the lights in Abu Dhabi, it will be an exhausting yet exciting year to watch the championship be played out.

2018 FIA Formula 1 World Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
25 MAR au Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
08 APR it Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
15 APR cn Chinese Grand Prix Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
29 APR az Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit, Baku
13 MAY es Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona
27 MAY mc Monaco Grand Prix Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
10 JUN ca Canadian Grand Prix Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal
24 JUN fr French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet
01 JUL it Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
08 JUL uk British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
22 JUL de German Grand Prix Hockenheimring, Hockenheim
29 JUL it Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring, Budapest
26 AUG au Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot
02 SEP it Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Milan
16 SEP sg Singapore Grand Prix Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore
30 SEP ru Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom, Sochi
07 OCT jp Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Course, Suzuka
21 OCT us United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, United States*
28 OCT mx Mexican Grand Prix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico
11 NOV au Brazilian Grand Prix Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo
25 NOV au Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

Image via Red Bull Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Jordan Mulach

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Canberra born and raised journalist, living in Brisbane. Sports Media graduate from the University of Canberra. iRacing addict