Matt Brabham will serve as Lee Holdsworth’s co-driver in this year’s Supercars endurance races, Charlie Schwerkolt Racing has announced.

Brabham (pictured above, with Schwerkolt), the grandson of three-time Formula 1 World Champion Sir Jack Brabham, will line up alongside Holdsworth in the team’s #18 Preston Hire Holden ZB Commodore at the Sandown 500, Bathurst 1000 and Gold Coast 600 events which form the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

“Matt is a terrific young driver and young man and we believe he will be a valuable asset for our race team as we all progress to the next level,” team owner Charlie Schwerkolt said.

“Matt is a racer. It goes without saying that it is in his blood and we believe that he will perfectly complement our full-time driver Lee Holdsworth.”

The youngster will be looking to add his name to the family’s proud history at Mount Panorama, where his father Geoff and uncle David combined to win the 1997 Bathurst 1000 run to Super Touring regulations.

Lee Holdsworth & Karl Reindler, Preston Hire Racing Holden VF commodore - 2017 Bathurst 1000

Lee Holdsworth in action at Bathurst

The 24-year-old has already enjoyed podium success at the Bathurst circuit, partnering Aaron Seton and Tony Longhurst to claim Class C honours in the recent Bathurst 12 Hour event.

Brabham’s co-driver outings follow on from a one-off appearance he made last year for the struggling LD Motorsport outfit at the Perth SuperSprint. He is hoping to use this hit-out in a more competitive outfit to prove that he warrants consideration for a full-time drive in 2019.

“The one-off ride last year [in Perth] gave me a small taste of what Supercars is about and I can’t wait to get out there,” Brabham said.

“I had my first experience at Mount Panorama last weekend in the 12 Hour and to know that the next time I will be heading back there will be in a Supercar is pretty cool.

“Lee [Holdsworth] is a first-class operator and has always been good to me and I am sure we will complement each other.

“The current landscape means that it is difficult to secure a solid drive without taking a cheque with you,” he added, expanding on his hopes of a full-time drive next year.

“So to be provided an opportunity like this and to be paid as a professional driver is a position that I obviously appreciate and will be protecting by doing the best job I can possibly do in and out of the car.”

Brabham takes over co-driver duties from Karl Reindler, who acted as co-driver with Holdsworth for the past two seasons.

2018 Australian Supercars Championship – Pirtek Enduro Cup Entry List
# Team / Entry Driver Co-Driver
023. 23Red Racing Will Davison
1. Triple Eight Race Engineering Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell
2. Walkinshaw Andretti United Scott Pye
5. Tickford Racing Mark Winterbottom Dean Canto
6. Tickford Racing Cameron Waters James Moffat
7. Nissan Motorsport Ash Walsh
8. Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat
9. Erebus Motorsport David Reynolds Luke Youlden
12. DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard
14. Brad Jones Racing Tim Slade
15. Nissan Motorsport Rick Kelly
17. DJR Team Penske Scott McLaughlin Alexandre Prémat
18. Charlie Schwerkolt Racing Lee Holdsworth Matthew Brabham
19. TEKNO Autosports Jack Le Brocq
21. Tim Blanchard Racing (BJR) Tim Blanchard
22. Walkinshaw Andretti United James Courtney
23. Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso
33. Garry Rogers Motorsport Garth Tander Chris Pither
34. Garry Rogers Motorsport James Golding Richard Muscat
35. Matt Stone Racing Todd Hazelwood
55. Tickford Racing Chaz Mostert Steve Owen
56. Tickford Racing Richie Stanaway
78. Nissan Motorsport Simona de Silvestro
97. Triple Eight Race Engineering Shane van Gisbergen Earl Bamber
99. Erebus Motorsport Anton de Pasquale Will Brown
888. Triple Eight Race Engineering Craig Lowndes Steven Richards

Images via Keith McInnes Photography and Team 18

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.