Gabriele Tarquini extended his lead in the new FIA World Touring Car Cup’s championship standings with victory in the final race of the season-opening round in Marrakech.

The Italian led a Hyundai 1-2-3 as the i30 N TCR continued its dominance of the weekend, resisting an intense challenge from YMR’s The Björk for much of the race before eventually pulling clear. Late in the race, Björk appeared to suffer a missed gearshift or momentary loss of power which allowed teammate Yvan Muller to slot into second place.

Having qualified on pole position earlier in the day, Tarquini made one of his textbook getaways as the lights went out to hold his lead into Turn 1.

Muller tried to chop across and block Tarquini’s BRC Racing teammate Norbert Michelisz from coming through. It was an ultra-aggressive move that all but forced Michelisz into the pit wall, and the move only succeeded in delaying both drivers, allowing Björk to slot into second place. Having lost momentum thanks to Muller’s blocking, Michelisz fell to fifth behind the Münnich Motorsport Honda of Yann Ehrlacher.

Reminiscent of Race 1, Tarquini held a less than one-second gap to Björk, with the pair quickly pulling clear of Muller, whose attentions were now occupied by his young nephew.

The first of two Safety Car interruptions came at the end of Lap 8 when Frédéric Vervisch slid his Comtoyou Audi up the Turn 7 escape road after his brakes failed. The Belgian was somehow able to avoid wiping out the Campos Racing Cupra of Pepe Oriola as he approached the back of the Spaniard’s car at almost unabated speed.

Vervisch’s retirement kicked off a succession of brake-related retirements as the high late afternoon ambient temperatures took their toll. Before the chequered flag was unfurled, he was joined by fellow Audi runner Gordon Shedden, along with the Mulsanne Alfa Romeos of Gianni Morbidelli and Fabrizio Giovanardi.

The race was neutralised for a second time when Vervisch’s teammate Nathanaël Berthon was tipped into the wall at Turn 6 by Mat’o Homola as the pair exited the Turn 4/5 chicane.

With the race distance extended to 23 laps, the field had an exciting seven-lap run to the chequered flag when the Safety Car pulled in.

Tarquini found himself under pressure from Björk until the Swede switched places with Muller on Lap 19, slotting between the team’s owner/driver and Ehrlacher.

The top four ran in that order to the chequered flag, with Michelisz – who reported a gearbox oil temperature alarm – holding off the two Sébastien Loeb Racing VW Golf GTIs of Mehdi Bennani and Rob Huff to finish in fifth place.

James Thompson secured another points finish with eighth place in the second Münnich Motorsport Honda ahead of the WRT Audi of Race 2 winner Jean-Karl Vernay. Oriola claimed the final championship point, finishing ahead of his teammate John Filippi and the Boutsen-Ginion Racing Honda of Tom Coronel.

The second round of the FIA World Touring Car Cup takes place at the Hungaroring on April 28-29.

2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup Race of Morocco – Race 3 Final Classification (20 laps)
  Driver   Team   Laps Result Pts
1. Gabriele Tarquini it BRC Racing Team 23 35:32.310 30
2. Yvan Muller MRacing – YMR 23 + 2.524 23
3. Thed Björk MRacing – YMR 23 + 2.922 19
4. Yann Ehrlacher ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 23 + 4.645 16
5. Norbert Michelisz BRC Racing Team 23 + 5.937 13
6. Mehdi Bennani Sébastien Loeb Racing 23 + 6.631 10
7. Rob Huff Sébastien Loeb Racing 23 + 8.121 7
8. James Thompson ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 23 + 9.932 4
9. Jean-Karl Vernay Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 23 + 10.743 2
10. Pepe Oriola es Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 23 + 13.740 1
11. John Filippi Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 23 + 14.599  
12. Tom Coronel Boutsen Ginion Racing 23 + 14.838  
13. Mat’o Homola DG Sport Compétition 23 + 16.011  
14. Esteban Guerrieri ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 23 + 16.475  
15. Norbert Nagy Zengõ Motorsport 23 + 18.464  
16. Aurélien Panis Comtoyou Racing 23 + 19.526  
17. Benjamin Lessennes be Boutsen Ginion Racing 23 + 20.205  
18. Gordon Shedden Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 19 Brakes  
19. Fabrizio Giovanardi it Mulsanne SRL 17 Brakes  
  Not Classified   Team   Laps Result  
DNF. Nathanaël Berthon Comtoyou Racing 15 Collision  
DNF. Gianni Morbidelli it Mulsanne SRL 13 Brakes  
DNF. Zsolt Dávid Szabó Zengõ Motorsport 8 Brakes  
DNF. Frédéric Vervisch be Audi Sport Team Comtoyou 6 Brakes  
DNS. Aurélien Comte DG Sport Compétition      
DNS. Denis Dupont be Comtoyou Racing      

* Post-Race Penalties:

  • None

Image via FIA WTCC Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.