Rob Huff has claimed his first FIA World Touring Car Cup win of its inaugural season, holding off a stern challenge from local wildcard Dániel Nagy throughout the race.

Starting from pole position in the reversed-grid race, Huff launched his Sébastien Loeb Racing VW Golf GTI into the lead, chopping across Nagy’s M1RA Hyundai i30 N TCR on the run to Turn 1.

Behind them, Yvan Muller made a terrific getaway from fifth on the grid in his YMR Hyundai, leaping into third place ahead of Huff’s teammate Mehdi Bennani and the Münnich Motorsport Honda of James Thompson.

Muller initially challenged Nagy for second place, but the Hungarian soon broke free of the Frenchman’s clutches and set about in his pursuit of Huff. The youngster harried the vastly more experienced Huff for the remainder of the 12-lap race, with the squabbling pair falling back towards Muller.

Behind Muller, Thompson’s teammate Esteban Guerrieri overtook the Englishman for fourth place on Lap 2. Two laps later, however, Thompson and Race 1 winner Yann Ehrlacher both suffered a sudden loss of power within seconds of each other and limped back to the pits.

Guerrieri would not hold his fourth place for long, as championship leader Gabriele Tarquini loomed large in the Argentine’s mirrors. On Lap 10, the Italian veteran made his move, forcing his way past the Honda driver at Turn 2 before quickly closing onto the back of Muller.

The top five ran nose-to-tail for the remainder of the race and were covered by barely three seconds when Huff crossed the finish line. Rapturous applause greeted Nagy, who had put in a superb performance in his one-off WTCR outing ahead of a full season in the feeder TCR Europe championship starting next weekend at Paul Ricard.

Rob Huff leads Daniel Nagy - 2018 FIA WTCR Race of Hungary

Huff used all of his experience to keep the quicker Hyundai of Nagy at bay in a tense race.

The local fans were given a triple reason to celebrate, with Norbert Michelisz crossing the line in sixth after winning a tough battle with Bennani, while Zsolt Szabó claimed his and the Zengõ Motorsport team’s first points of the season by finishing ninth ahead of Jean-Karl Vernay’s WRT Honda.

Huff’s win moves him to third in the Drivers’ Championship standings, 27 points behind overall leader Tarquini. Saturday race-winner Yann Ehrlacher sits in second place, slipping to 22 points behind the Italian after his retirement.

The third and final race of the weekend is scheduled for 16:55 CET. Local hero Norbert Michelisz starts from pole position ahead of BRC Racing teammate Tarquini.

2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup Race of Hungary – Race 2 Final Classification (12 laps)
Driver Team Laps Result Pts
1. Rob Huff Sébastien Loeb Racing 12 23:11.390 25
2. Dániel Nagy M1RA 12 + 0.562 18
3. Yvan Muller MRacing – YMR 12 + 2.200 15
4. Gabriele Tarquini it BRC Racing Team 12 + 2.659 12
5. Esteban Guerrieri ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 12 + 3.050 10
6. Norbert Michelisz BRC Racing Team 12 + 4.252 8
7. Mehdi Bennani Sébastien Loeb Racing 12 + 8.529 6
8. Benjamin Lessennes be Boutsen Ginion Racing 12 + 13.453 4
9. Zsolt Dávid Szabó Zengõ Motorsport 12 + 19.460 2
10. Jean-Karl Vernay Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 12 + 19.896 1
11. Norbert Nagy Zengõ Motorsport 12 + 22.475
12. Thed Björk MRacing – YMR 12 + 22.855
13. John Filippi Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 12 + 24.007
14. Nathanaël Berthon Comtoyou Racing 12 + 24.480
15. Gordon Shedden Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 12 + 25.916
16. Aurélien Comte DG Sport Compétition 12 + 26.732
17. Frédéric Vervisch be Audi Sport Team Comtoyou 12 + 27.115
18. Attila Tassi KCMG 12 + 27.832
19. Tom Coronel Boutsen Ginion Racing 12 + 31.597
20. Aurélien Panis Comtoyou Racing 12 + 33.739
21. Denis Dupont be Comtoyou Racing 12 + 39.207
22. Gianni Morbidelli it Mulsanne SRL 12 + 44.396
23. Fabrizio Giovanardi it Mulsanne SRL 12 + 1:00.037
Not Classified Team Laps Result
DNF. Yann Ehrlacher ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 8 Mechanical
NC. James Thompson ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 8 + 4 laps
NC. Mat’o Homola DG Sport Compétition 7 + 5 laps
DNF. Pepe Oriola es Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 5 Mechanical

* Post-Race Penalties:

  • Fabrizio Giovanardi – who provisionally finished 19th – was handed a 30-second time penalty for causing a collision with Gianni Morbidelli.

Image via FIA WTCR Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.