Alexander Albon has won back-to-back Formula 2 pole positions, matching his superb qualifying performance a fortnight ago in Azerbaijan to claim prime starting position for Saturday’s Feature Race at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

The DAMS driver’s final flying lap proved untouchable for the rest of the field, with Nyck de Vries (PREMA Theodore Racing) and Luca Ghiotto (Campos Racing) coming closest in the final reckoning.

Conditions were warm and breezy in the late afternoon, with grip continuing to improve as the track began to cool. Albon’s DAMS teammate Nicholas Latifi was the first to beat the Anglo-Thai driver’s practice benchmark and the duo held sway at the top of the timesheets as the session’s halfway point approached.

Running was interrupted when Trident’s Santino Ferrucci hit the wall at Turn 9 and brought out the red flags. The American was proving to have a tough weekend so far, having already spun off in the earlier practice session.

A clever call by the DAMS team saw the outfit get its two drivers out on to an empty track when the session resumed. Latifi improved on his earlier time to get within one-tenth of his teammate’s opening effort, but Albon pulled out all stops and beat his earlier time by a further three-tenths of a second.

Track activity heated up, with a number of frontrunners trying and failing to beat Albon’s time.

Jack Aitken (ART) was the first to split the two DAMS drivers, but he was quickly beaten by teammate George Russell. De Vries then moved ahead of the pair to claim second-fastest, while a last-gasp effort from Ghiotto saw the Italian snatch third on the grid.

Behind the two ART entries, Tadasuke Makino secured seventh in his Russian Time entry ahead of championship leader Lando Norris (Carlin Motorsport). The MP Motorsport pairing of Ralph Boschung and local driver Roberto Merhi locked out the fifth row.

The opening Feature Race will be held over 37 laps, starts at 14:40 local time (GMT +2) on Saturday.

2017 FIA Formula 2 Championship Race of Spain – Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Alexander Albon DAMS 1:28.142
2. Nyck de Vries Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 1:28.369 + 0.227
3. Luca Ghiotto it Campos Vexatec Racing 1:28.400 + 0.258
4. George Russell uk ART Grand Prix 1:28.524 + 0.382
5. Jack Aitken uk ART Grand Prix 1:28.579 + 0.437
6. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:28.605 + 0.463
7. Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:28.620 + 0.478
8. Lando Norris uk Carlin Motorsport 1:28.923 + 0.781
9. Ralph Boschung ch MP Motorsport 1:28.970 + 0.828
10. Roberto Merhi es MP Motorsport 1:29.081 + 0.939
11. Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 1:29.130 + 0.988
12. Louis Delétraz Charouz Racing System 1:29.136 + 0.994
13. Maximilian Günther de BWT Arden International 1:29.143 + 1.001
14. Sergio Sette Câmara Carlin Motorsport 1:29.256 + 1.114
15. Roy Nissany Campos Vexatec Racing 1:29.284 + 1.142
16. Sean Gelael Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 1:29.307 + 1.165
17. Nirei Fukuzumi BWT Arden International 1:29.376 + 1.234
18. Arjun Maini in Trident Racing 1:29.407 + 1.265
19. Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:29.585 + 1.443
20. Santino Ferrucci Trident Racing 1:30.440 + 2.298

Post-Qualifying Penalties:

  • None

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.