Mat’o Homola claimed DG Sport Compétition’s second World Touring Car Cup victory, and the first of his WTCR career, in an action-packed second race on the streets of Vila Real. The Slovakian driver held off four-time WTCC title-winner Yvan Muller for the win, while Pepe Oriola claimed back-to-back podium finishes for Campos Racing.

Gordon Shedden started from the reversed-grid pole position in the Team WRT Audi, leading Muller and Homola at the start. Muller had a run on Shedden, but the Scot defended hard and an enterprising Homola snuck past Muller’s Hyundai to claim second place.

The field – reduced to 24 cars with the withdrawal of both Sébastien Loeb Racing VW Golfs and James Thompson’s Münnich Motorsport Honda following the horrific pile-up in Saturday’s opening race – made it through the opening sequence of corners without drama, although carnage would ensue later in the lap.

The drama came at the narrow chicane at the bottom of the hill. Shedden carried too much speed and cut the chicane to avoid clouting the wall, while Homola clipped the wall exiting the chicane and knocked off a wing mirror.

The bunched midfield saw the two Comtoyou Audis of Frédéric Vervisch and Nathanaël Berthon, Benjamin Lessennes’ Boutsen Ginion Honda and the sister Honda of Münnich Motorsport’s Esteban Guerrieri come together. Vervisch blatantly cut the chicane to swerve around Berthon and Lessenes and sideswiped Guerrieri’s car in the process, leading to the Argentine’s retirement. Vervisch and Lessenes were both issued drive-through penalties for their troubles.

A few laps later, the Stewards ruled that Shedden would be given a five-second time penalty for cutting the chicane. The Scot served his joker lap at the end of Lap 6 in the hope of being able to stay ahead of Homola when he served his, but the strategy called backfired thanks to two rapid laps by the Slovakian who managed to get the jump on Shedden.

Muller stayed out in the hope that he could jump the pair of them and served his joker lap on Lap 10. It wasn’t enough, as he narrowly rejoined behind Homola’s Peugeot and chased the youngster over the final lap to the finish line. Shedden crossed the finish line in third, however, his time penalty demoted him to sixth behind Oriola, Jean-Karl Vernay and Norbert Michelisz.

On the back of his Race 1 victory on Saturday and by finishing ahead of former championship leader Yann Ehrlacher (who finished seventh), Muller’s points lead over his nephew extends to 30 ahead of this weekend’s third and final race which takes place at 17:10 local time (GMT +1).

2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup Race of Portugal – Race 2 Final Classification (11 laps)
Driver Team Laps Result Pts
1. Mat’o Homola DG Sport Compétition 11 22:57.517 25
2. Yvan Muller MRacing – YMR 11 + 0.764 18
3. Pepe Oriola es Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 11 + 2.025 15
4. Jean-Karl Vernay Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 11 + 3.635 12
5. Norbert Michelisz BRC Racing Team 11 + 4.144 10
6. Gordon Shedden Audi Sport Leopard Lukoil Team 11 + 6.335 8
7. Yann Ehrlacher ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 11 + 6.413 6
8. Aurélien Panis Comtoyou Racing 11 + 6.975 4
9. Gabriele Tarquini it BRC Racing Team 11 + 7.284 2
10. Thed Björk MRacing – YMR 11 + 7.705 1
11. Fabrizio Giovanardi it Mulsanne SRL 11 + 13.105
12. John Filippi Team OSCARO by Campos Racing 11 + 14.666
13. Norbert Nagy Zengõ Motorsport 11 + 15.376
14. Edgar Florindo Rui Edgar Macedo Florino 11 + 25.558
15. Tom Coronel Boutsen Ginion Racing 11 + 29.649
16. José Rodrigues Target Competition 11 + 37.198
17. Frédéric Vervisch be Audi Sport Team Comtoyou 11 + 43.399
Not Classified Team Laps Result
DNF. Zsolt Dávid Szabó Zengõ Motorsport 8 Retired
DNF. Benjamin Lessennes be Boutsen Ginion Racing 3 Retired
DNF. Denis Dupont be Comtoyou Racing 2 Driveshaft
DNF. Aurélien Comte DG Sport Compétition 1 Collision
DNF. Nathanaël Berthon Comtoyou Racing 0 Collision
DNF. Esteban Guerrieri ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 0 Collision
DNS. Gianni Morbidelli it Mulsanne SRL Mechanical
WD. Rob Huff Sébastien Loeb Racing Withdrew
WD. Mehdi Bennani Sébastien Loeb Racing Withdrew
WD. James Thompson ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Withdrew

* Post-Race Penalties:

  • Gordon Shedden was issued a 5-second post-race time penalty for exceeding track limits and gaining an advantage.
  • Frédéric Vervisch was issued a 5-second post-race time penalty for exceeding track limits and gaining an advantage.

Images via FIA WTCR Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.