Artem Markelov claimed his third race win of the 2018 Formula 2 Championship season, with the Russian’s victory in the Sprint Race at the Red Bull Ring moving him to third overall in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

After charging to a hard-fought eighth-placed finish from 18th on the grid in Saturday’s Feature Race, the RUSSIAN TIME driver had a much easier run in Sunday’s race with a lights-to-flag run to victory.

The main mover of the race was yesterday’s Feature Race winner George Russell, who finished a superb second to take the lead of the Drivers’ Championship standings. The Mercedes junior driver started from seventh place and immediately overtook his title rival Lando Norris into Turn 1.

He made the same moves to get by Antonio Fuoco, Alexander Albon and Sergio Sette Câmara to progress to third place over subsequent laps.

Two laps later and he overtook Markelov’s teammate Tadasuke Makino to move into second place and lay 2.5 seconds behind the race leader.He was unable to make up ground on Markelov, who was the quickest driver in the field and went on to win by almost six seconds.

Makino held on to third place for a while, but struggled with wearing tyres and lost ground over the final laps to finish in sixth place behind Sette Câmara, Albon and Fuoco.

Norris, the incumbent championship leader, similarly had his own problems managing tyre wear and fell out of the points to cross the finish line in eleventh place.

2018 FIA Formula 2 Championship Race of Austria – Sprint Race Results (28 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result Pts
1. Artem Markelov Russian Time 28 36:41.950 17
2. George Russell uk ART Grand Prix 28 + 5.600 12
3. Sergio Sette Câmara Carlin Motorsport 28 + 8.543 10
4. Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 28 + 17.188 8
5. Alexander Albon DAMS 28 + 17.925 6
6. Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 28 + 22.580 4
7. Santino Ferrucci Trident Racing 28 + 24.588 2
8. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 28 + 27.286 1
9. Nirei Fukuzumi BWT Arden International 28 + 28.046
10. Arjun Maini in Trident Racing 28 + 28.655
11. Lando Norris uk Carlin Motorsport 28 + 30.190
12. Maximilian Günther de BWT Arden International 28 + 30.800
13. Luca Ghiotto it Campos Vexatec Racing 28 + 32.189
14. Nyck de Vries Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 28 + 32.953
15. Ralph Boschung ch MP Motorsport 28 + 36.952
16. Roberto Merhi es MP Motorsport 28 + 38.895
17. Roy Nissany Campos Vexatec Racing 28 + 44.100
18. Jack Aitken uk ART Grand Prix 28 + 44.249
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Result
DNF. Louis Delétraz Charouz Racing System 23 + 9.648
DNF. Sean Gelael Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 22 Mechanical

Championship Points:

  • Points are awarded to the top 8 classified finishers in the Sprint Race on a 15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 scale.
  • Artem Markelov is awarded an additional 2 championship points for posting the fastest lap of the race by a points’ finisher.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • None

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.