Carlin driver Sergio Sette Câmara narrowly denied Renault Formula 1 reserve driver Jack Aitken pole position for the Formula 2 Feature Race at the Hungaroring by just 0.03 seconds.

It was an incredibly closely fought qualifying session on Friday afternoon, with the entire field covered by just over 1.3 seconds on the stopwatch.

Aitken and Nyck de Vries looked to be the main contenders for qualifying honours, with the former moving into provisional pole position on his last flying lap.

That was until Sette Câmara lapped fractionally quicker with just two minutes left in the session. Aitken had already returned to the pits and could do nothing to respond, but managed to hold onto a front row start ahead of de Vries, who had a poor first sector on his final flying lap.

Championship leader George Russell – quickest in the day’s earlier practice session – could manage no better than fourth-fastest, ending his run of being the benchmark qualifier over the previous three rounds in France, Britain and Germany.

Luca Ghiotto continued a positive run of form for Campos Racing by qualifying fifth-fastest ahead of Russell’s chef championship rival Lando Norris.

Artem Markelov qualified seventh-fastest for Russian Time, with Trident’s Arjun Maini, MP Motorsport’s Ralph Boschung and Charouz Racing System’s Louis Delétraz completed the top ten.

Championship frontrunner Alexander Albon had his worst qualifying session of the season so far, with the pole-winner in Baku, Spain and Monaco consigned to a lowly thirteenth in his DAMS entry.

Saturday’s 37-lap Feature Race gets underway at 16:45 local time (GMT +2).

2018 FIA Formula 2 Championship Race of Hungary – Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Sergio Sette Câmara Carlin Motorsport 1:27.400
2. Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 1:27.430 + 0.030
3. Nyck de Vries Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 1:27.631 + 0.231
4. George Russell ART Grand Prix 1:27.762 + 0.362
5. Luca Ghiotto it Campos Vexatec Racing 1:27.828 + 0.428
6. Lando Norris Carlin Motorsport 1:27.864 + 0.464
7. Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:27.957 + 0.557
8. Arjun Maini in Trident Racing 1:27.958 + 0.558
9. Ralph Boschung ch MP Motorsport 1:27.973 + 0.573
10. Louis Delétraz Charouz Racing System 1:28.032 + 0.632
11. Nirei Fukuzumi BWT Arden International 1:28.038 + 0.638
12. Antonio Fuoco Charouz Racing System 1:28.073 +0.673
13. Alexander Albon DAMS 1:28.107 + 0.707
14. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:28.124 + 0.724
15. Maximilian Günther de BWT Arden International 1:28.169 + 0.769
16. Roy Nissany Campos Vexatec Racing 1:28.348 + 0.948
17. Alessio Lorandi Trident Racing 1:28.533 + 1.133
18 Sean Gelael Pertamina Prema Theodore Racing 1:28.648 + 1.248
19. Roberto Merhi es MP Motorsport 1:28.724 + 1.324
20. Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:28.750 + 1.350

Post-Qualifying Penalties:

  • None

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.