Santiago will remain on the FIA Formula E Championship schedule for the 2018-19 season, with the event set to take place at a new circuit in the Chilean capital.

The South American city staged its inaugural ePrix during the 2017-18 on a street circuit laid out around the iconic Parque Forestal, however, a number of logistical challenges were encountered during the event’s running. Additionally, the race organisers faced intense opposition from local residents.

To counter this, the second running of the Santiago ePrix will take place inside the grounds of the 185-acre O’Higgins Park, located about five kilometres to the southwest in the city centre.

Parque O'Higgins Circuit - Santiago ePrix

The 14-turn circuit, which needs official homologation by the FIA, will run around the Movistar Arena located in the middle of the park.

“I’m incredibly happy that Santiago will again feature on the ABB FIA Formula E championship calendar for season five,” said Formula E co-founder and chief championship officer Alberto Longo.

“I have particularly fond memories of the event last year and I really like the atmosphere of the city and backdrop against the Andes.”

The Santiago ePrix will take place on January 26, 2019, and be the third round of the Formula E Championship’s 2018-19 season. The all-electric series’ first race kicks off on 15 December in the Saudi Arabian capital of Riyadh.

2018-19 FIA Formula E Championship Calendar
Date Event Location
15 Dec 2018 Riyadh ePrix Ad Diriyah Street Circuit, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
12 Jan 2019 ma Marrakesh ePrix Circuit Moulay El Hassan, Marrakech, Morocco
26 Jan 2019 Santiago ePrix Parque O’Higgins Circuit, Santiago, Chile
16 Feb 2019 mx Mexico City ePrix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City, Mexico
10 Mar 2019 hk Hong Kong ePrix Hong Kong Central Harbourfront Circuit, Hong Kong
23 Mar 2019 hk Sanya ePrix Sanya Street Circuit, Sanya, China
13 Apr 2019 it Rome ePrix Circuto Cittadino dell’EUR, Rome, Italy
27 Apr 2019 fr Paris ePrix Les Invalides street circuit, Paris, France
11 May 2019 mx Monaco ePrix Circuit de Monaco, Monte-Carlo, Monaco
25 May 2019 de Berlin ePrix Tempelhof Airport Circuit, Berlin, Germany
09 June 2019 mx TBA TBA, Switzerland
13-14 July 2019 us New York ePrix* Brooklyn Street Circuit, New York City, United States

* Denotes double-header event

Images via FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.