Walkinshaw Andretti United (WAU) and 23Red Racing will don new numbers in 2019 with fresh racing numbers becoming available for next season.

WAU and James Courtney will revert back to #22, a number well known to the team since 2004 after owning the #25 entry in 2018 to mark the former factory Holden team’s 25-year partnership with main sponsor Mobil 1.

23Red Racing will claim the #23 entry for Will Davison on their new Ford Mustang in 2019 previously held by the Nissan Motorsport outfit. #23 was held by the Nissan factory since 2015 as it is Nissan’s official factory number used throughout numerous racing programs around the world. The 23Red Racing team previously held the #230 entry but has decided to change to the double-digits for next season.

Additionally, Scott McLaughlin will stick with the famous #17 numbers for next year as he defends his championship while Triple Eight (T8) will set aside the #888 numbers raced by Craig Lowndes since joining T8 (also known then as Team Betta Electrical) in 2005.

The #17 has been a staple to Australian Touring Cars acting as Dick Johnson’s racing number during his time as a racing driver and a team owner since 1981.

Meanwhile, the 2019 pitlane order has been finalised with new pairings throughout the revised pitlane. The pitlane order is based on the 2018 team’s championship result with tweaks for single and three-car teams.

T8 return to the front of the pitlane after securing this season’s team’s title. DJR Team Penske only fall back two places with T8 axing their third car. While down at pit-entry, T8’s now two single-car customer teams share the pit boom at the end of the pitlane with Mark Winterbottom in his new Team 18 outfit bookending the pit bays at pitlane entry.

Erebus Motorsport and WAU are the most successful movers in 2019 moving from boom seven to five and boom ten to six respectively. On the other end of the spectrum, Garry Rogers Motorsport bite the bullet dropping from boom six to eleven.

The full pitlane order for the 2019 Supercars Championship is shown below:

Boom Team
1 Triple Eight Race Engineering
Triple Eight Race Engineering
2 DJR Team Penske
DJR Team Penske
3 Tickford Racing
Tickford Racing
4 Tickford Racing
23Red Racing
5 Erebus Motorsport
Erebus Motorsport
6 Walkinshaw Andretti United
Walkinshaw Andretti United
7 Brad Jones Racing
Brad Jones Racing
8 Tim Blanchard Racing
Matt Stone Racing
9 Kelly Racing
Kelly Racing
10 Kelly Racing
Kelly Racing
11 Garry Rogers Motorsport
Garry Rogers Motorsport
12 Tekno Autosports
Team 18

Images via Supercars

The following two tabs change content below.

Luke McCullough

Melbourne Based - 17 Grand Prix attendances and counting in Australia, Singapore, Canada, France, Austria and Great Britain.