GP3 Series championship-winner Anthoine Hubert will graduate to the FIA Formula 2 Championship this year after being confirmed as a driver with the BWT Arden team.

Anthoine Hubert

Anthoine Hubert

The 22-year-old Frenchman, who won last year’s GP2 Series crown from Nikita Mazepin – whose graduation to the ART Grand Prix team was announced last year – was in negotiations with rival outfit MP Motorsport before a last-minute switch to join BWT Arden. A key decision was the British team’s new technical partnership with Formula E and DTM outfit HWA.

BWT Arden finished ninth overall in the Teams’ Championship standings, one spot below MP Motorsport, with Maximilian Günther claiming the outfit’s only race win in the Silverstone Sprint Race.

Both of the team’s 2018 drivers are off to new pastures in 2019, with Günther joining Geox Dragon Racing’s line-up in the FIA Formula E Championship while Honda-backed teammate Nireo Fukuzumi will race in the Japanese Super Formula championship.

2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship – Provisional Entry List
Team Drivers
Carlin Motorsport uk Nobuharu Matsushita Louis Delétraz
ART Grand Prix fr Nikita Mazepin Nyck de Vries
DAMS fr Sérgio Sette Câmara Nicholas Latifi
UNI Virtuosi Racing uk UNI-Virtuosi Racing Guan Yu Zhou Luca Ghiotto
Prema Racing it Mick Schumacher de Sean Gelael
Charouz Racing System cz TBA TBA
Campos Racing es Jack Aitken TBA
MP Motorsport TBA TBA
BWT Arden uk Anthoine Hubert TBA
Trident Racing it Giuliano Alesi TBA

Image via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.