Finnish racing driver Antti Buri will make his FIA World Touring Car Cup debut after securing a wildcard entry to contest the upcoming Race of Germany round at the Nürburgring Nordschleife later this month.

The 30-year-old drives for the one-car LMS Racing team in an Audi RS 3 LMS and leads the ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship standings after its opening three rounds of the 2019 season. He has claimed a race win in each round to-date at Oschersleben, Autodrom Most and the Red Bull Ring.

“The WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup presented by OSCARO has always been a big goal for me,” said Buri.

“I’ve been racing in ADAC TCR Germany since 2016, I’ve been racing TCR cars on an international level in the 24H Series and as the opportunity came to step up to world level, I grabbed it now with the wildcard entry.”

LMS Racing will support his entry at the Nürburgring Nordschleife, where he will be handicapped by an additional 20kg of compensation weight ballast as a wildcard entry under the WTCR rules.

“These are the rules, and they are the same for every wildcard, so no excuses,” said Buri.

“Obviously, extra weight doesn’t help us, but my knowledge of the track should be good as I have done two 24-hour races on the Nordschleife. Last year, together with my team-mates, I won the TCR class of the Nürburgring 24 Hours. But endurance racing is not sprint racing. Also, I have never raced the Audi RS 3 LMS on the Nordschleife. But generally speaking, I know the car very well, it has been my race car in ADAC TCR Germany since 2017.”

Buri finished fifth overall in last year’s TCR Germany standings. Fellow drivers Niels Langeveld (3rd) and Benjamin Leuchter (8th) both graduated to this year’s WTCR grid with full-time drives for Comtoyou Team Audi Sport and SLR Volkswagen respectively.

Image via ADAC TCR Germany Touring Car Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.