DS Techeetah’s Jean-Éric Vergne has claimed pole position for Formula E’a first trip to Switzerland’s capital, Bern.

Having set the second fastest time through the group stages of qualifying, Vergne set a 1:18.813 lap in ‘Super Pole’ to take provisional pole. Ultimately the final runner in the session – Jaguar’s Mitch Evans, who fastest in the group qualifying stage – couldn’t beat this time, falling 0.307 seconds short and will instead start alongside Vergne on the front row.

Third on the grid is Nissan e.Dams’ Sébastien Buemi (+0.351) who moved up one position in Super Pole, while Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing, +0.355), Maximilian Günther (Dragon Racing, +0.558) and Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing, +0.723) fill the remaining positions on the first three rows.

While six different teams were represented in the top six positions, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler is not one of them. Daniel Abt was the first driver to miss out on the single-lap shootout and will start from seventh, while his teammate Lucas di Grassi – battling for the championship – could only muster 19th.

Team mates of some of the Super Pole competitors fill the remaining positions in the top ten, with André Lotterer (Techeetah), Robin Frijns (Virgin) and Alex Lynn (Jaguar) starting eighth, ninth and tenth respectively.

Joining di Grassi towards the rear of the field is BMW i Andretti’s António Félix da Costa, who is fourth in the championship heading to Bern but only 20th on the grid. With title rival Vergne starting at the front, this pair of championship contenders have their work cut out for them.

2019 Formula E Julius Baer Swiss ePrix – ‘Super Pole’ Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap
1. Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 1:18.813
2. Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:19.120 + 0.307
3. Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.dams 1:19.164 + 0.351
4. Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing 1:19.168 + 0.355
5. Maximilian Günther Geox Dragon Racing 1:19.371 + 0.558
6. Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 1:19.536 + 0.723
2019 Formula E Julius Baer Swiss ePrix – Preliminary Qualifying Results
Driver Team / Entry Time Gap*
7. Daniel Abt Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:19.554 + 0.657
8. André Lotterer DS Techeetah 1:19.585 + 0.688
9. Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 1:19.591 + 0.694
10. Alex Lynn Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:19.608 + 0.711
11. Jérôme d’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 1:19.613 + 0.716
12. Felipe Massa Venturi Formula E Team 1:19.638 + 0.741
13. Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams 1:19.670 + 0.773
14. José María López Geox Dragon Racing 1:19.714 + 0.817
15. Stoffel Vandoorne HWA Racelab 1:19.719 + 0.822
16. Gary Paffett HWA Racelab 1:19.804 + 0.907
17. Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1:19.908 + 1.011
18. Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 1:20.023 + 1.126
19. Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1:20.034 + 1.137
20. António Félix da Costa BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1:20.081 + 1.184
21. Tom Dillmann NIO Formula E Team 1:20.506 + 1.609
22. Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 1:20.551 + 1.654

*Denotes gap to fastest preliminary qualifying time of 1:18.897 posted by Mitch Evans

Post-Qualifying Penalties:

  • None

Earlier, Vergne began the event in the same way as he would in qualifying, by setting the fastest time with a 1:19.281 lap in opening practice. Lotterer was second, 0.111 seconds behind his teammate, while di Grassi just 0.048 seconds further back in third as the top 16 cars were covered by less than a second.

Wehrlein set the pace in a tight second practice session, lowering the benchmark to 1:19.188. The Techeetah pair were again strong, Lotterer (+0.006) leading Vergne (+0.010) in this instance. Several drivers were seen making small mistakes, pinching brakes and missing braking markers during this session as they pushed to find the limits on the inclines of this new circuit – the wild rides prompting Mitch Evans to describe the track as “a bit of a roller coaster”.

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Mitch Timms

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Professional motorsport engineer and all-round tech head.