Damp and drizzly conditions provided a test for the Formula 1 drivers in Friday’s second practice session at the Hungaroring, but that didn’t stop the Red Bull Racing pair of Pierre Gasly and Max Verstappen topping the timesheets ahead of the two Mercedes-AMG runners.

The fastest times of the session were posted in the first 30 minutes before the track became too greasy for any lap time improvements, and with the rest of the weekend forecast to be dry there was little to be gained with unnecessary wet-weather mileage and a potential trip into the barriers.

Once driver didn’t even make it that far. Scuderia Toro Rosso rookie Alexander Albon was on his third lap of the session when he dropped a wheel onto the grass approaching the final corner. His car snapped sideways and slid straight into the barriers at the approach to the right-hander; the shunt caused major damage to his STR14 and brought out the red flags.

Gasly posted the session’s benchmark time of 1:17.854 to finish just five-hundredths of a second faster than his teammate and last weekend’s German Grand Prix winner Max Verstappen. A further eight-hundredths of a second back was Lewis Hamilton’s Mercedes.

The Englishman’s teammate Valtteri Bottas had missed out on FP1 with an engine misfire and with a replacement Energy Store and Control Electronics fitted for FP2 the Finn was back out on track and finished the session fourth-fastest.

Daniel Ricciardo, a winner in Hungary in 2014 when with Red Bull Racing, finished fifth-fastest in his Renault ahead of the Alfa Romeo of Kimi Räikkönen. Their respective teammates, Nico Hülkenberg and Antonio Giovinazzi, also made it into the top-ten and finished eighth- and ninth-fastest behind Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc. Daniil Kvyat was tenth-fastest in the sole remaining Toro Rosso.

Driver Team / Entry Time Gap Laps
1. Pierre Gasly Red Bull Racing RB15 1:17.854 16
2. Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing RB15 1:17.909 + 0.055 12
3. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG Motorsport W10 1:17.995 + 0.141 15
4. Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG Motorsport W10 1:18.184 + 0.330 18
5. Daniel Ricciardo Renault F1 Team RS19 1:18.597 + 0.743 13
6. Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing C38 1:18.682 + 0.828 25
7. Charles Leclerc Scuderia Ferrari SF90 1:18.852 + 0.998 21
8. Nico Hülkenberg Renault F1 Team RS19 1:18.892 + 1.038 14
9. Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing C38 1:18.909 + 1.055 25
10. Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda STR14 1:18.957 + 1.103 22
11. Romain Grosjean Haas F1 Team VF-19 1:19.149 + 1.295 19
12. Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team VF-19 1:19.178 + 1.324 21
13. Sebastian Vettel Scuderia Ferrari SF90 1:19.254 + 1.400 24
14. Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren F1 Team MCL34 1:19.398 + 1.544 22
15. Sergio Pérez Racing Point F1 Team RP19 1:19.721 + 1.867 13
16. Lance Stroll Racing Point F1 Team RP19 1:19.774 + 1.920 14
17. George Russell ROKiT Williams Racing FW42 1:19.889 + 2.035 14
18. Lando Norris McLaren F1 Team MCL34 1:20.401 + 2.547 6
19. Robert Kubica ROKiT Williams Racing FW42 1:20.439 + 2.585 15
20. Alexander Albon Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda STR14 no time 2

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.