The Schumacher surname returned to the top step of the podium at the Hungaroring after a 15-year absence, with Mick Schumacher claiming a breakthrough victory in the Formula 2 Championship Sprint Race.

The PREMA Racing rookie started from pole position for the reversed-grid 28-lap race thanks to his eighth place finish in Saturday’s Feature Race. After the starting lights went out, he successfully fended off a challenge from two-time Hungaroring winner Nobuhara Matsushita on the long run to Turn 1 and kept the Carlin driver at arm’s length for the remainder of the 28-lap race.

The gap between the pair ebbed and flowed throughout the race, with Matsushita punching out a sequence of quick laps to try and startle Schumacher before backing off to cool his tyres. The Japanese driver was also kept busy by DAMS’ Sérgio Sette Câmara, who briefly mounted a challenge before settling for third place.

The son of seven-time Formula 1 World Champion Michael Schumacher crossed the finish line with a 1.4-second margin to Matsushita, claiming his first win in the F1 feeder series.

MP Motorsport’s Jordan King finished fourth ahead of Renault junior driver Jack Aitken (Campos Racing).

Championship leader Nyck de Vries (ART Grand Prix) finished sixth, critically ahead of his closest title rival Nicholas Latifi (DAMS), extending his lead to the Williams reserve driver to 30 points with four rounds of the season to go after the mid-year summer break.

Luca Ghiotto (UNI-Virtuosi) finished eighth to claim the final point on offer, having bogged down at the start from fourth on the grid. The Italian slipped to fourth in the Drivers’ Championship standings behind Sette Câmara.

The race’s sole retirement was Tatiana Calderón, who damaged her Arden’s steering in a Turn 1 clash with Campos Racing’s Arjun Maini.

2019 FIA Formula 2 Championship – Hungary Sprint Race Final Classification (28 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result Pts
1. Mick Schumacher de Prema Racing 28 43:59.841 15
2. Nobuharu Matsushita Carlin Motorsport 28 + 1.453 14
3. Sérgio Sette Câmara DAMS 28 + 3.396 10
4. Jordan King MP Motorsport 28 + 4.177 8
5. Jack Aitken Campos Racing 28 + 4.960 6
6. Nyck de Vries ART Grand Prix 28 + 11.428 4
7. Nicholas Latifi DAMS 28 + 12.314 2
8. Luca Ghiotto UNI Virtuosi Racing UNI-Virtuosi Racing 28 + 12.930 1
9. Guan Yu Zhou UNI Virtuosi Racing UNI-Virtuosi Racing 28 + 13.821
10. Callum Ilott Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 28 + 23.877
11. Anthoine Hubert BWT Arden 28 + 26.891
12. Giuliano Alesi Trident Racing 28 + 29.527
13. Louis Delétraz Carlin Motorsport 28 + 35.741
14. Juan Manuel Correa Sauber Junior Team by Charouz 28 + 38.514
15. Nikita Mazepin ART Grand Prix 28 + 39.932
16. Arjun Maini Campos Racing 28 + 40.093
17. Sean Gelael Prema Racing 28 + 40.737
18. Ralph Boschung Trident Racing 28 + 42.857
19. Mahaveer Raghunathan MP Motorsport 28 + 59.688
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Reason
DNF. Tatiana Calderón BWT Arden 7 Collision

Championship Points:

  • Championship points are awarded on the results of the Sprint Race’s top-eight finishers on a 15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 sliding scale.
  • Nobuhara Matsushita is awarded two bonus championship points for posting the fastest lap of the Sprint Race by a top-ten finisher.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • None.

Images via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.