The BMW i Andretti Motorsport team will have a change in its driving line-up for the 2019-20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship season. Long-time driver António Félix da Costa will end his BMW association, with his seat being claimed by GEOX Dragon driver Maximilian Günther.

A Formula 2 Championship graduate, the 22-year-old Günther contested ten races for GEOX Dragon in the 2018-19 season. The German achieved a best finish of fifth place and was twice a contender in ‘Super Pole’ qualifying en route to finishing 17th overall in the Drivers’ Championship standings – four spots better than full-time teammate José María López.

Günther will return to his roots, having finished runner-up in the 2011 Formula BMW Talent Cup before moving up the single-seater racing ladder ahead of a switch to the Formula E Championship.

“I am looking forward to Maximilian Günther returning to the BMW family,” said BMW Group Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt.

“We followed his performance last season very closely. Maximilian regularly managed to get the maximum out of his car package. That saw him achieve some impressive results. Having a driver with a history of BMW single-seater racing is a great fit.”

The 2018-19 season was the first factory effort by BMW in its partnership with Andretti Autosport, and it saw da Costa lead the team to victory at the season-opening Ad Diriyah ePrix. He and teammate Alexander Sims denied each other a 1-2 finish when they collided at the next race in Marrakech, but the team did achieve a further four podium finishes over the season, finishing fifth in the Teams’ Championship standings.

Antonio Felix da Costa, BMW i Andretti Motorsport - 2019 Berlin ePrix

With no confirmation of da Costa’s next steps, speculation is rife as to what the future holds for the 28-year-old racer. After finishing the last season in sixth and, at one point, challenging for the title, time will tell where the former BMW driver will find himself

Da Costa’s association across BMW’s suite of racing programmes had ended, with his 52-race Formula E career with Andretti and BMW seeing the Portuguese driver claim two wins and five podium finishes.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Antonio very much for the good collaboration this past Formula E season and in the six years overall as a BMW works driver in the DTM, the WEC, in GT racing and in Formula E,” added Marquardt.

“We had a great time together but agreed that a change would be good for both parties. Now we wish him all the best on his new journey.”

2019-20 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
DS Techeetah Jean-Éric Vergne TBA
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Envision Virgin Racing Sam Bird Robin Frijns
Nissan e.dams
Sébastien Buemi Oliver Rowland
BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Maximilian Günther TBA
Mahindra Racing
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Venturi Racing
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team
GEOX Dragon Brendon Hartley TBA
NIO 333 FE Team
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team André Lotterer Neel Jani

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.