António Félix da Costa will be teammate to two-time Formula E champion Jean-Éric Vergne at DS Techeetah for the forthcoming 2019-20 season.

A long-time member of BMW’s driving line-up across a range of championships, the Portuguese driver and the carmaker announced an end to their partnership earlier this month. His seat at BMW i Andretti Motorsport was taken by German youngster Maximilian Günther, who had an impressive rookie season with GEOX Dragon.

Da Costa’s move to DS Techeetah was paved by the departure of André Lotterer, who signed to spearhead Porsche’s debut in the all-electric championship after two seasons with the Franco-Chinese squad.

Having been part of the Andretti team in Formula E since 2016, da Costa enjoyed his best season to-date in 2018-19 by claiming victory at the season-opening race in Saudi Arabia along with three further podium finishes to finish sixth overall in the Drivers’ Championship standings.

“It’s fantastic to have António with the team,” said DS Techeetah Team Principal Mark Preston. “He’s a good friend to all of us and we’re all looking forward to welcoming him and to see him in the gold and black DS Techeetah colours.

“He will be a great, and fast, addition to the team and we’re all very excited to see what Jean-Éric and António will deliver on track this coming year.”

“Getting the opportunity to join a double championship-winning team in such a highly competitive motorsport category like Formula E is very rare,” added da Costa.

“It was a very hard decision to leave my current position but it’s an opportunity I just couldn’t say no to and I’m very excited to join Jean-Éric and everyone at DS Techeetah.”

2019-20 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
DS Techeetah Jean-Éric Vergne António Félix da Costa
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Envision Virgin Racing Sam Bird Robin Frijns
Nissan e.dams
Sébastien Buemi Oliver Rowland
BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Maximilian Günther TBA
Mahindra Racing
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Venturi Racing
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team
Stoffel Vandoorne Nyck de Vries
GEOX Dragon Brendon Hartley TBA
NIO 333 FE Team
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team André Lotterer Neel Jani

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.