Nico Müller will make his ABB FIA Formula E Championship debut in the forthcoming 2019-20 season with the GEOX Dragon team, it has been confirmed.

The Swiss driver currently races for Audi the DTM series and lies second in the Drivers’ Championship standings with two race wins. He also served as the test and development driver for the factory Audi Formula E team, testing with them in Marrakech in 2018 and 2019 – where he was fastest overall in both tests – as well as a post-race test following the 2018-19 season-opening Ad Diriyah ePrix.

His move to a rival Formula E team came with the blessing of Audi management, although it is understood he will remain part of Audi’s DTM programme next year.

“I have already met and started working with most of the team,” Müller said of his return to open-wheel racing. “They are an extremely motivated group of racers.

“They have proven their ability to win races and challenge for podiums in Formula E. They have done it before, and we aim to do it in season six. We have a big challenge ahead of us.

“We are an independent manufacturer, and the level of competition in Formula E is the highest in motorsport, but I have a lot of confidence in the team. We have a compact structure, and everyone has a full grasp on the project, so together we will be able to move quickly and optimise the Penske Autosport package.

“I love street racing, and I am looking forward to lining up against the best guys out there. Formula E is particularly challenging, especially for a rookie, but I think we have an extremely exciting year ahead of us.”

Jose Maria Lopez, GEOX Dragon - 2019 Monaco ePrix

Three-time WTCC title-winner José María López’s two seasons with Dragon netted him just five points’ finishes.

The Jay Penske-owned team had a troubled 2018-19 season, finishing second-last in the Teams’ Championship standings ahead of only the NIO team with José María López in one car, and Maximilian Günther and Felipe Nasr sharing duties in its second car.

For the 2019-20 season, it will be all change in the team’s driving line-up, with former F1 and World Endurance Champion driver Brendon Hartley already confirmed in one seat. With Günther moving to BMW i Andretti Motorsport, it leaves López scrambling to claim one of the few remaining seats on the grid.

2019-20 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
DS Techeetah Jean-Éric Vergne António Félix da Costa
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Envision Virgin Racing Sam Bird Robin Frijns
Nissan e.dams
Sébastien Buemi Oliver Rowland
BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Maximilian Günther TBA
Mahindra Racing
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Venturi Racing
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team
Stoffel Vandoorne Nyck de Vries
GEOX Dragon Brendon Hartley Nico Müller
NIO 333 FE Team
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team André Lotterer Neel Jani

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.