The Haas F1 Team will field an unchanged driving line-up for the 2020 Formula 1 World Championship season after making a surprise decision to retain Romain Grosjean’s services alongside Kevin Magnussen.

Grosjean’s re-signing will mark the Frenchman’s fifth season with the American team with whom he drove to a points’ finish on its debut at the 2016 Australian Grand Prix; it will additionally be his fourth year as teammate to Kevin Magnussen.

“Experience, and the need for it, has been one of the cornerstones of Haas F1 Team, and with Romain Grosjean and Kevin Magnussen racing for the team in 2020, we continue to have a driver line-up that offers us a solid platform to continue our growth,” says Haas team principal Guenther Steiner.

“Their understanding of how we work as a team, and our knowledge of what they can deliver behind the wheel, gives us a valued continuity and a strong foundation to keep building our team around. It’s been a tough year for us in 2019 with the fluctuation in performance of the VF-19, but our ability to tap into our combined experiences will help us learn, improve, and move forward as a unit in 2020.”

The announcement is something of a surprise given the almost season-long uncertainty over Grosjean’s future with the team. The 33-year-old has scored just 8 points for the team compared to Magnussen’s 18 in what is proving to be an annus horribilis for the outfit which, languishes in ninth in the Constructors’ Championship standings this year. The Ferrari-powered VF-19 has been a poor car, although Grosjean has not helped his cause this year with several highly-visible driving errors.

Grosjean was shortlisted against Renault refugee Nico Hülkenberg, who loses his seat with the factory squad at the end of the season when it announced he would be replaced by Esteban Ocon.

2020 Formula 1 World Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
Mercedes-AMG Petronas Lewis Hamilton Valtteri Bottas
Scuderia Ferrari
Sebastian Vettel Charles Leclerc
Red Bull Racing Max Verstappen TBA
McLaren Renault
Carlos Sainz Jr. Lando Norris
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Renault F1 Team
Daniel Ricciardo Esteban Ocon
Alfa Romeo Racing
Kimi Räikkönen TBA
Racing Point BWT Mercedes
Sergio Pérez Lance Stroll
Haas F1 Team
Kevin Magnussen Romain Grosjean
Williams Racing George Russell TBA

Image via Haas F1 Team

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.