Spain will host the FIA World Touring Car Cup next season with the addition of MotorLand Aragón to the 2020 season calendar.

It will be the first time the series has raced in the country since its FIA World Touring Car Championship forebear competed at Valencia’s Circuit Ricardo Tormo in 2012 (pictured above).

Located in the northeast of the country close to the city of Alcañiz, the anticlockwise MotorLand Aragón circuit was inaugurated in 2009 and has played host to the MotoGP Championship since 2010. Its layout – which has car racing and motorcycle configurations – was designed by Hermann Tilke with input from former Grand Prix driver Pedro de la Rosa.

Motorland Aragón

The FIA WTCR field is expected to race on Motorland Aragón’s 5.34-kilometre configuration. 

The venue’s General Manager, Santiago Abad, said: “MotorLand Aragón is a world reference for automotive industry, with private customers and racing teams from different categories and countries testing all year long at our facilities. Organising the WTCR Race of Spain is an immense pride and a future bet, supported by a long car racing heritage in our region. It’s a great added value to the existing international events at MotorLand Aragón.”

MotorLand Aragón’s confirmation on the 2020 calendar still requires sign-off from FIA World Motor Sport Council.

Image via Chevrolet Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.