The FIA World Motor Sport Council has officially ratified a 22-race calendar for the 2020 Formula 1 World Championship season.

Friday’s WMSC meeting at Cologne rubber-stamped the record-breaking schedule that was publicly release in August.

The championship will stage its traditional curtain-raiser at the Australian Grand Prix in mid-March, with the second Grand Prix in Bahrain taking place on the following weekend.

The new Vietnamese Grand Prix will make its debut as the third Grand Prix of the season in early April, with the Chinese Grand Prix ending the opening sequence of flyaway races two weeks’ later.

The Dutch Grand Prix, making its return after a 35-year absence, will officially kickstart the European leg of the season, followed a week later by the Spanish Grand Prix after event organisers’ last-ditch lobbying to secure the race’s future.

The Monaco Grand Prix retains its traditional slot at the end of May, followed by back-to-back races in Azerbaijan and Canada and a further pair of back-to-back rounds in France and Austria.

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone starts the second half of the season as a standalone event in mid-July before the Hungarian Grand Prix, which precedes the traditional summer break in August.

The series will return to action with back-to-back races in Belgium and Italy to close out the Europe-based events, with the end of the season featuring a succession of flyaway races in Singapore, Russia, Japan, the United States and Mexico (back-to-back), Brazil and Abu Dhabi, which closes out the championship at the end of November.

By dint of the bumper schedule, pre-season testing has been cut from eight days to six, with two open test sessions to take place at the  Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya from 19-21 February and 26-28 February. The four in-season test days have been axed.

2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
15 MAR au Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
22 MAR it Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
05 APR Vietnamese Grand Prix Hanoi Street Circuit, Hanoi*
19 APR cn Chinese Grand Prix Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
03 MAY cn Dutch Grand Prix Circuit Zandvoort, Zandvoort*
10 MAY es Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona
24 MAY mc Monaco Grand Prix Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
07 JUN az Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit, Baku
14 JUN ca Canadian Grand Prix Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal
28 JUN fr French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet
05 JUL it Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
19 JUL uk British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
02 AUG it Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring, Budapest
30 AUG au Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot
06 SEP it Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Milan
20 SEP sg Singapore Grand Prix Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore
27 SEP ru Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom, Sochi
11 OCT jp Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Course, Suzuka
25 OCT us United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, United States*
01 NOV mx Mexico City Grand Prix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico
15 NOV au Brazilian Grand Prix Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo
29 NOV au Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

* Subject to circuit homologation

Image via Ignite Image

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.