Mahindra Racing will field an unchanged driving line-up of ex-Formula 1 drivers Pascal Wehrlein and Jérôme d’Ambrosio for its 2019/20 FIA Formula E Championship campaign.

Wehrlein and d’Ambrosio spearheaded the team’s driving line-up for the 2018/19 season, however the former was required to see out his existing contract with Mercedes-AMG and as a result had to miss the season-opening race in Saudi Arabia where Felix Rosenqvist acted as his substitute.

D’Ambrosio’s season started strongly with a third place in Ad Diriyah followed by victory in the next ePrix at Marrakech to lead the Drivers’ Championship standings. He remained on top of the points’ table through to the Mexico City ePrix, but his season fell apart from that point and he netted just three further top-ten finishes. His eventual eleventh placing in the standings would be considered a disappointment.

“I really want to thank Mahindra Racing for last year and I am super happy to continue with the team,” d’Ambrosio said of his re-signing.

“We had an amazing start to season five and started to show the potential we have working together as one team. We know the second half of the season was challenging, but the fact that we are all sticking together for season six means we can come back stronger and consistently fight at the front for wins.”

His rookie teammate Wehrlein had arguably the more impressive season, claiming a superb second place in just his second race at Santiago. At the next round in Mexico City, he sensationally qualified on pole and was on course to win the race until he ran out of energy just metres from the chequered flag and fell to sixth.

“I am very happy to continue my relationship with Mahindra Racing,” said Wehrlein. “Last year was my rookie season and there were a lot of positives to take from that and build on for my second Formula E season.

“There is a very positive and upbeat mood in the team as we’ve been working hard over the summer break and I’m really looking forward to working with the team again.”

Former Mahindra racer Nick Heidfeld continues as the team’s official test and reserve driver, while 2019 European Le Mans Series racer Sam Dejonghe also stays on as reserve and simulator driver.

Mahindra Racing M6Electro

The Mahindra Racing M6Electro will have powertrain support from German engineering company ZF.

While there is stability in its driving line-up, the Indian squad has opted for a change in direction with its powertrain supply, announcing a new partnership with the ZF technology company.

ZF had previously partnered with Venturi on its Formula E powertrains before the Monégasque outfit’s switch to Mercedes; it will now support Mahindra with its chassis development work, shock absorber supplies and engineering services in 2019/20 before upgrading its role to that of exclusive powertrain supplier for the 2020/21 season.

“I am thrilled Jérôme and Pascal will both return to the team for season six,” said Mahindra team principal Dilbagh Gill.

“I am also delighted to welcome ZF to the Mahindra Racing family. We now have one of the most successful global players in the field of e-mobility at our side. We were highly impressed by the performance of the ZF driveline in the most recent Formula E season and together we will be even better positioned to continue celebrating success.”

2019-20 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
DS Techeetah Jean-Éric Vergne António Félix da Costa
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Envision Virgin Racing Sam Bird Robin Frijns
Nissan e.dams
Sébastien Buemi Oliver Rowland
BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Maximilian Günther TBA
Mahindra Racing
Jérôme d’Ambrosio Pascal Wehrlein
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Mitch Evans James Calado
Venturi Racing
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team
Stoffel Vandoorne Nyck de Vries
GEOX Dragon Brendon Hartley Nico Müller
NIO 333 FE Team
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team André Lotterer Neel Jani

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.