Formula E Championship backmarkers NIO have undergone another change of ownership in the off-season, with the Chinese team announcing that it will field Ma Qing Hua and Oliver Turvey in its line-up for the 2019/20 season.

The team is now owned by Shanghai Lisheng Bank, which has added the 333 moniker to the team’s official entry name and retained NIO (the Chinese electric vehicle manufacturer) as its naming rights sponsor.

The team, which won the Drivers’ Championship title for Nelson Piquet Jr. in the inaugural 2014/15 season (when it was then known as China Racing), has suffered a steady slide down the grid in subsequent seasons. It finished dead last in the 2018/19 Teams’ Championship standings, with the incumbent Turvey scoring all three points’ finishes.

Turvey has been part of the team’s driving line-up since the end of the 2014/15 season and stayed with the squad through its successive NEXTEV and NIO iterations. His best finish with the team a second place at the Mexico City ePrix in 2017/18, the team’s one and only podium finish since Piquet Jr’s title win.

Ma, currently enjoying success in the FIA World Touring Car Cup, will make his first full-time outings in the series after sporadic appearances for Team Aguri, Techeetah and NIO teams.

2019-20 FIA Formula E Championship – Provisional Entry List (to-date)
Team Drivers
DS Techeetah Jean-Éric Vergne António Félix da Costa
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
Lucas di Grassi Daniel Abt
Envision Virgin Racing Sam Bird Robin Frijns
Nissan e.dams
Sébastien Buemi Oliver Rowland
BMW i Andretti Motorsport
Maximilian Günther Alexander Sims
Mahindra Racing
Jérôme d’Ambrosio Pascal Wehrlein
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Mitch Evans James Calado
Venturi Racing
Felipe Massa Edoardo Mortara
Mercedes-Benz EQ Formula E Team
Stoffel Vandoorne Nyck de Vries
GEOX Dragon Brendon Hartley Nico Müller
NIO 333 FE Team
Ma Qing Hua Oliver Turvey
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team André Lotterer Neel Jani

Images via ABB FIA Formula E Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.