Scuderia Toro Rosso will be known as Scuderia Alpha Tauri next year after securing unanimous approval from rival teams to change its name.

The junior Red Bull team has been on the grid since 2006 after the drinks company’s acquisition of the Minardi team so it had a feeder team from which to develop and promote its best junior drivers. The Toro Rosso moniker is an Italian translation of ‘Red Bull’, giving a nod to the team’s original Italian heritage.

The name change will occur to align to Red Bull’s emerging fashion brand, launched two years ago, which is named after a giant red star in the Taurus constellation.

Teams typically alter their official entry names each season to denote a change in title sponsor, however it is quite rare for a team to completely change its name without any change of ownership.

A recent example was the Sauber team’s change to Alfa Romeo Racing this year, in deference to the Italian carmaker assuming title sponsorship. The Swiss team, however, continues to operate behind the entry and its constructor (chassis build) designation remains ‘Sauber’.

Last year saw Force India be renamed Racing Point, however this was officially a different entry – despite no change in chassis design – due to the Silverstone team undergoing a change of ownership after being placed into administration.

Image via Alpha Tauri

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.