Macauley Jones will remain with Tim Blanchard Racing for the 2020 Supercars Championship season.

TBR operates as a satellite ‘third car’ entry under the Brad Jones Racing operation, with whom Jones, the nephew of BJR founder Brad Jones, made his full-time Supercars Championship debut this year. The 25-year-old is currently placed 22nd in the Drivers’ Championship standings with a best race result of 15th last time out at the Gold Coast 600.

“Over the past year I’ve learned a lot and it’s crucial to have that second season to be able to implement everything and be a bit more on the front foot,” Jones told the official Supercars website when his re-signing was announced.

“I’m very thankful to CoolDrive for this opportunity and helping me get to where I am. I’m really looking forward to the year ahead.”

“Macauley has had a tough initial year, but we’re keen to keep the relationship with BJR (Brad Jones Racing) going and give him every chance to take the next step,” said team owner Tim Blanchard.

“We know the first year is always really tough, I’ve been through that myself, and I think it’d be unfair to not give him the opportunity to improve on what he’s learnt from his rookie year.”

The Albury-based team is set to expand to a four-car structure in 2020 after reacquiring the Jason Bright owned Racing Entitlements Contract which had been leased to Matt Stone Racing. It is expected that this seat will be handed to the team’s well-funded wildcard driver Jack Smith.

2020 Australian Supercars Championship – Predicted Entry List
Team Drivers
DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Scott McLaughlin
Triple Eight Race Engineering Jamie Whincup Shane van Gisbergen
Erebus Motorsport David Reynolds Anton de Pasquale
Tickford Racing Cameron Waters Lee Holdsworth*
Tickford Racing Jack Le Brocq*
23Red Racing (Tickford Racing) Will Davison
Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat TBA
Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith*
Tim Blanchard Racing (BJR) Macauley Jones
Kelly Racing Kelly Racing Rick Kelly Andre Heimgartner
Team 18 Mark Winterbottom TBA
Matt Stone Racing Garry Jacobson* TBA
TEKNO / One World James Courtney TBA
Walkinshaw Andretti United Walkinshaw Andretti United Chaz Mostert* TBA

* To be officially confirmed, but considered highly likely

Image via Team Cooldrive

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.