Andy Priaulx became the fifteenth different race-winner of the 2019 FIA World Touring Car Cup, giving Lynk & Co a clean sweep of the Guia Race of Macau round and denying Rob Huff a fairytale tenth victory at the iconic street circuit.

The Guernseyman, who has borne a run of bad luck in his first season of front-wheel-drive touring car racing, managed to get the jump on pole-sitter Huff from the front row of the grid and kept the SLR Volkswagen driver at arm’s length for the remainder of the race.

Huff was able to hang on to second place as the pack sprinted towards Lisboa, slotting in behind his fellow Briton and ahead of the ART Audi of Jean-Karl Vernay and fellow SLR VW driver Johan Kristoffersson.

Thed Björk was fourth ahead of sixth-placed Cyan Racing Lynk & Co teammate Yvan Muller – winner of the weekend’s two races so far – with the pair split by the BRC Racing Hyundai of Nicky Catsburg.

The top-four runners soon broke away from Björk, with the quartet repeatedly trying to slipstream each other through the fast harbourfront section of the lap. While Huff was clearly faster than Priaulx through the mountain section of the lap, the single-file twists and turns made it impossible for him to attempt a pass.

Priaulx, meanwhile, made sure he always had the better exit from the final corner to deny Huff any shot at a lunge into Lisboa. Huff was himself being kept busy by an attacking Vernay, whose team had worked frantically to remedy the engine issues that had plagued the Frenchman in Race 2.

Björk led the next train of cars, sitting comfortably in fifth place until the final lap before once again slowing under instruction from the Cyan Racing pit wall to allow Muller (and, in the process, Catsburg) to pass him so his teammate could gain a few extra points to strengthen his Drivers’ Championship ambitions.

Muller therefore finished as the best-placed of the championship contenders in sixth place – title rivals Norbert Michelisz (BRC Racing Hyundai) and Esteban Guerrieri (Münnich Motorsport Honda) were consigned to twelfth and tenth respectively.

Michelisz still leads the WTCR points standings, albeit with a reduced margin of 9 points to Guerrieri and 11 points to Muller ahead of the season-ending Race of Malaysia at Sepang next month.

2019 FIA WTCR Guia Race of Macau – Race 3 Final Classification (11 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result Pts
1. Andy Priaulx Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 11 27:58.428 25
2. Rob Huff SLR VW Motorsport 11 + 0.352 20
3. Jean-Karl Vernay Leopard Racing Team Audi Sport 11 + 1.193 16
4. Johan Kristoffersson SLR Volkswagen 11 + 1.855 13
5. Nicky Catsburg BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Racing Team 11 + 20.030 11
6. Yvan Muller Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 11 + 21.096 10
7. Thed Björk Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 11 + 21.552 9
8. Yann Ehrlacher Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 11 + 22.194 8
9. Kevin Ceccon Team Mulsanne 11 + 22.565 7
10. Esteban Guerrieri Münnich Motorsport 11 + 23.506 6
11. Tom Coronel Comtoyou Team DHL Cupra Racing 11 + 23.884 5
12. Norbert Michelisz BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse 11 + 24.597 4
13. Niels Langeveld Comtoyou Team Audi Sport 11 + 25.054 3
14. Luca Engstler BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Racing Team 11 + 27.552 2
15. Frédéric Vervisch be Comtoyou Team Audi Sport 11 + 27.925 1
16. Attila Tassi KCMG 11 + 29.259
17. Néstor Girolami Münnich Motorsport 11 + 30.140
18. Mehdi Bennani SLR VW Motorsport 11 + 30.527
19. Tiago Monteiro KCMG 11 + 31.317
20. Mikel Azcona PWR Racing 11 + 31.500
21. Benjamin Leuchter be SLR Volkswagen 11 + 32.319
22. Ma Qing Hua Team Mulsanne 11 + 34.602
23. Aurélien Panis Comtoyou Team DHL Cupra Racing 11 + 37.051
24. Robert Dahlgren PWR Racing 11 + 39.756
25. Billy Lo Kai Fung be Tian Shi Zuver Team 11 + 51.272
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Reason
DNF. Gabriele Tarquini BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse 3 Mechanical
DNS. Gordon Shedden Leopard Racing Team Audi Sport Withdrawn
DNS. Jim Ka To KC Motorgroup Withdrawn

Championship Points:

  • The top fifteen classified finishers (excluding wildcard entries) and their respective teams are awarded championship points on a 25-20-16-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 sliding scale.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • To be advised.

Images via FIA WTCR Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.