Lee Holdsworth will remain at Tickford Racing until at least the 2021 Supercars Championship season.

The news comes hot off the heels of Holdsworth’s first podium finish for the team at the Sandown 500, with the 36-year-old enjoying a strong second half of his first season with the outfit which he joined at the beginning of the 2019 season.

“I’m absolutely stoked to be able to say I’m staying with Tickford Racing in 2020,” Holdsworth said of his re-signing.

“We’ve had a great second half of 2019 and I really feel confident in the team and the car, so I’m very happy to be staying put.

“This year’s given my career a shot in the arm. I always felt I have many more good years in me, and this year I’ve been able to prove it, and I’m really grateful to Tickford that I’ll be able to continue fighting for top fives and podiums with them in 2020.”

Tickford Racing team principal Tim Edwards added: “Lee’s been great for us in and out of the car. He gelled with the team straight away at the start of this year, provides great insight in team meetings, and has been great with fans and sponsors.

“Once he acclimatised to our car the results started coming, and they came in droves. We’re more than happy to continue with Lee, and look forward to seeing him hoist more trophies in 2020.”

Holdsworth will race in new colours, with Truck Assist – which currently backs Jack Le Brocq at TEKNO Autosport – will replace The Bottle-O as the naming rights sponsor of the #5 Ford Mustang. The Bottle-O’s continued role as a sponsor is yet to be determined.

Le Brocq is also expected to complete Tickford Racing’s four-car line-up next year as a replacement for Chaz Mostert, who is widely believed to be joining the Walkinshaw Andretti United team.

2020 Australian Supercars Championship – Predicted Entry List
Team Drivers
DJR Team Penske Fabian Coulthard Scott McLaughlin
Triple Eight Race Engineering Jamie Whincup Shane van Gisbergen
Erebus Motorsport David Reynolds Anton de Pasquale
Tickford Racing Cameron Waters Lee Holdsworth
Tickford Racing Jack Le Brocq*
23Red Racing (Tickford Racing) Will Davison
Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat TBA
Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith
Tim Blanchard Racing (BJR) Macauley Jones
Kelly Racing Kelly Racing Rick Kelly Andre Heimgartner
Team 18 Mark Winterbottom Scott Pye
Matt Stone Racing Garry Jacobson* TBA
TEKNO / One World James Courtney TBA
Walkinshaw Andretti United Walkinshaw Andretti United Chaz Mostert* TBA

* To be officially confirmed, but considered highly likely

Images via Tickford Racing

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.