Hyundai will be on the 2020 FIA World Touring Car Cup grid when the season gets underway, with four cars to be entered for current champion Norbert Michelisz, Gabriele Tarquini, Nicky Catsburg and Luca Engstler.

The four drivers will be split between two teams. Michelisz and Tarquini will remain at the BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse, with the Italian outfit scaling back to two cars in the off-season.

Filling the void is the German Engstler Motorsport outfit, owned by former WTCC driver Franz Engstler, which will field Catsburg and Luca Engstler, with the latter permanently replacing Augusto Farfus after standing in for the Brazilian at the Guia Race of Macau round last year.

There was speculation that the Hyundai runners would switch to the newly-built Veloster N TCR model, but the already-successful i30 N TCR will remain in service for the forthcoming season.

“The Hyundai i30 N TCR already has a fantastic record in WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup competition, and the line-up of customer teams and drivers that will take the car to the 2020 grid means that should continue for the coming season,” said Andrew Johns, leader of Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing Operations.

“BRC Racing Team and Engstler Motorsport are two of the most successful TCR squads in the world so to have them both as Hyundai Motorsport customers is great.

“Had it not been for the cost-cutting measures put in place for this year, it would not have been possible to be able to have two such strong teams in the series. For Engstler Motorsport and Luca Engstler the move into WTCR comes after massive success in national and regional championships, and shows perfectly the potential of a strong car, strong team and strong driver combination in TCR racing.”

Reigning champion Michelisz will headline the driving quartet and the Hungarian is looking to claim back-to-back WTCR crowns.

“After winning the title last year, I’m obviously very happy to be continuing with the Hyundai i30 N TCR and BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse for 2020. For me it’s a really comfortable environment,” said the Hungarian.

“I feel I really work well with BRC, and with Gabriele as my teammate and that shows in the results we have had for the last two seasons. Of course, 2020 will be a new challenge. There are new circuits on the calendar and new tyres for everybody on the grid. I’m sure the other drivers are working hard to be ready for the season, but we are also pushing for the start of the year. I know I have the title, but I know we can be faster in 2020.”

His teammate Tarquini won the inaugural WTCR title in 2018 and is delighted to remain on the grid.

“I’m very happy to be racing with BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse for the 2020 WTCR season,” he said. “We were the car to beat in the i30 N TCR, and our goal is to be the chased, rather than the chasers, again this year. Personally I will be aiming to make more visits to the podium, but we must also keep our focus on the ultimate prize; to take home both WTCR titles.”

After finishing 14th overall in the championship standings last year, Catsburg will be targeting an improved run of results and staying out of trouble in 2020.

“I’m excited for a second season in the series, and with a new team,” said the Dutch driver.

“Engstler Motorsport have a lot of experience and success with the i30 N TCR around the world and, of course, before that as well. Hopefully together we can add to that story this season. I really enjoyed driving the Hyundai i30 N TCR in FIA WTCR last year. The series has some of the best racing, and best touring car drivers in the world and is incredibly competitive on track in every session.”

After an impressive wildcard outing with Engstler Motorsport at last year’s Race of Slovakia round – claiming a pair of tenth place finishes – Engstler earns a full-time call-up with the family-owned team.

“Joining the WTCR grid is really a dream for me. I really like TCR racing, and the Hyundai i30 N TCR is one of the best cars in the category,” said Engstler.

“I have to thank the Hyundai Motorsport Customer Racing department. As part of their Junior Driver program last year I was able to take advantage of some of their knowledge and learn from guys like Norbi, Gabriele and Nicky. Then they trusted me to drive in Macau last year which was a great experience and something that should help me for this season. Hopefully I can repay some of the support they’ve given me and help keep the i30 N TCR at the front of the WTCR field in 2020.”

2020 FIA World Touring Car Cup – Confirmed Entry List (to-date)
# Team / Entrant Car Driver
1. BRC LUKOIL Squadra Corse Hyundai i30 N TCR Norbert Michelisz
8. Engstler Luqui Moly Racing Team Hyundai i30 N TCR Luca Engstler
9. Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR (FK8) Attila Tassi
18. Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR (FK8) Tiago Monteiro
29. Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR (FK8) Néstor Girolami
30. BRC LUKOIL Squadra Corse Hyundai i30 N TCR Gabriele Tarquini
31. Comtoyou Racing Audi RS3 LMS TCR Tom Coronel
86. Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR (FK8) Esteban Guerrieri
88. Engstler Luqui Moly Racing Team Hyundai i30 N TCR Nicky Catsburg
TBA. Cyan Performance Lynk & Co Lynk & Co 03 TCR TBA
TBA. Cyan Performance Lynk & Co Lynk & Co 03 TCR TBA
TBA. Cyan Racing Lynk & Co Lynk & Co 03 TCR TBA
TBA. Cyan Racing Lynk & Co Lynk & Co 03 TCR TBA

Images via FIA WTCR Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.