The 2020 Formula 1 World Championship will start no earlier than June after the FIA and Formula One Management announced that the Dutch, Spanish and Monaco Grands Prix will not go ahead as originally scheduled due to the COVID-19 Coronavirus pandemic.

The Dutch and Spanish rounds can potentially be rescheduled into an altered calendar, along with the already-postponed Bahrain, Vietnamese and Chinese Grands Prix.

Like the season-opening Australian Grand Prix, the iconic Monaco Grand Prix, however, is officially cancelled. This marks the first time since 1954 that the event will not take place.

“Due to the ongoing and fluid nature of the COVID-19 situation globally, the FIA, Formula 1 and the three promoters have taken these decisions in order to ensure the health and safety of the travelling staff, championship participants and fans, which remains our primary concern,” a statement from the FIA explained.

“The FIA and Formula 1 continue to work closely with affected promoters and local authorities to monitor the situation and take the appropriate amount of time to study the viability of potential alternative dates for each Grand Prix later in the year should the situation improve.

“The FIA and Formula 1 expect to begin the 2020 Championship season as soon as it is safe to do so after May and will continue to regularly monitor the ongoing COVID-19 situation.”

The FIA has brought forward the traditional summer shutdown in August to April in the hope of using that gap to slot in some races should the COVID-19 Coronavirus pandemic ease enough to allow for a return to racing.

The updated calendar now sees the Azerbaijan Grand Prix in June as the new season-opener, with the Canadian Grand Prix following a week later.

2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
15 MAR au Australian Grand Prix – CANCELLED Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
22 MAR it Bahrain Grand Prix – POSTPONED Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
05 APR Vietnamese Grand Prix – POSTPONED Hanoi Street Circuit, Hanoi
19 APR cn Chinese Grand Prix – POSTPONED Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
03 MAY au Dutch Grand Prix – POSTPONED Circuit Zandvoort, Zandvoort
10 MAY au Spanish Grand Prix – POSTPONED Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló
24 MAY au Monaco Grand Prix – CANCELLED Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
07 JUN az Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit, Baku
14 JUN au Canadian Grand Prix Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montréal
28 JUN au French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet
05 JUL au Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
19 JUL au British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
02 AUG au Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring, Mogyoród
30 AUG au Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot
06 SEP au Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza
20 SEP au Singapore Grand Prix Marina Bay Sreet Circuit, Singapore
27 SEP au Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom, Sochi
11 OCT au Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Couse, Suzuka
25 OCT au United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, Austin
01 NOV au Mexico City Grand Prix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City
15 NOV au Brazilian Grand Prix Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo
29 NOV au Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

Image via Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.