Christian Lundgaard became the fourth new winner in Formula 2, and the third rookie to do so this season, taking a dominant Sprint Race victory from third on the grid.

The Danish racer propelled himself ahead of his ART Grand Prix teammate Marcus Armstrong off the line and then claimed the scalp of reversed-grid polesitter Dan Ticktum a lap later. From there, he never looked like handing back the lead.

Ticktum and Armstrong held on to P2 and P3 for their second podiums of the season, ahead UNI-Virtuosi’s Guanyu Zhou and Callum Ilott.

After such a successful Saturday, Feature Race top-two finishers Robert Shwarztman and Yuki Tsunoda both suffered from retirements in the Sprint Race, as did Mick Schumacher, whose frustrating start to the season continued.

Having seen the Feature Race delayed by more than an hour on Saturday due to the wet conditions, Lundgaard was in a hurry to get on with things on Sunday in the dry. The Dane sprung off the line from third, getting the better of his teammate, Armstrong.

Reverse polesitter Ticktum got away smoothly but didn’t have the pace to build up any form of a gap and was quickly under pressure from Lundgaard, who set the fastest lap on his first tour and quickly closed in on the DAMS driver, before making a late, committed lunge for first to eek ahead through the smallest of gaps at Turn 1.

Gaining the advantage of DRS, Ticktum attempted to claw the position back at the second and third corners, but ran out of room and was forced to back off.

By the time Lundgaard took the lead, the field had lost its front two drivers from the Feature Race. Shwartzman spun in the middle of the pack on the first lap, seemingly losing grip down the straight. Those behind him done well to avoid the PREMA, whose race was over. A lap later and Tsunoda was gone too. The Carlin driver lost power and dropped to the back of the grid, before being forced to retire.

Lundgaard extended his lead at the front to three seconds, leaving those behind him to squabble amongst themselves. Schumacher made an elegant move on Armstrong for the final podium position, leaving it late to squeeze ahead with the aid of DRS. But, he did not sit there for long, as the fire extinguisher in his car accidentally went off and he was forced to head back to the pits to retire.

Nikita Mazepin hadn’t enjoyed the greatest of starts to 2020 and failed to score points for the third race in a row on Saturday, finishing 14th. The Russian enjoyed a better time of things on Sunday, shooting up to eighth to take the final points’ position.

It was a similarly successful morning for Jack Aitken and Sean Gelael, who rose three places each to sixth and seventh.

It wasn’t quite such a strong day for Callum Ilott. The Briton lost fourth to Guanyu Zhou at the start, and despite piling on the pressure late in the race, he could not win back the position. His teammate reacted to the challenge by getting within a second of Armstrong in third, enabling him to use DRS and defend.

Lundgaard crossed the line unopposed, with Ticktum unable to challenge the Dane for the race lead. Armstrong finished third, more than 8s back, with Zhou and Ilott completing the top five.

Despite suffering a DNF, Shwartzman holds on to first in the Drivers’ Championship on 48 points, five ahead of Lundgaard and Ilott. Ticktum moves up to fourth, ahead of Armstrong.

In the Teams’ Championship, ART Grand Prix are first with 77 points, ahead of UNI-Virtuosi on 70 and PREMA Racing on 62. DAMS are fourth and MP Motorsport sixth.

The third round of the 2020 FIA Formula 2 Championship takes place at the Hungaroring next weekend.

2020 FIA Formula 2 Championship – Austria 2 Sprint Race Final Classification (28 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result Pts
1. Christian Lundgaard ART Grand Prix 28 36:51.582 17
2. Dan Ticktum DAMS 28 + 2.063 12
3. Marcus Armstrong ART Grand Prix 22 + 10.226 10
4. Guan Yu Zhou UNI Virtuosi Racing UNI-Virtuosi Logo 28 + 10.994 8
5. Callum Ilott UNI Virtuosi Racing UNI-Virtuosi Logo 28 + 11.534 6
6. Jack Aitken Campos Racing 28 + 20.458 4
7. Sean Gelael DAMS 9 + 22.955 2
8. Nikita Mazepin Hitech Grand Prix 28 + 23.632 1
9. Jehan Daruvala Carlin Motorsport 28 + 24.180
10. Luca Ghiotto Hitech Grand Prix 16 + 27.770
11. Nobuhara Matsushita MP Motorsport 28 + 28.392
12. Louis Delétraz Charouz Racing System 28 + 29.247
13. Felipe Drugovich MP Motorsport 28 + 32.770
14. Pedro Piquet Charouz Racing System 28 + 34.113
15. Giuliano Alesi BWT HWA Racelab 2 + 41.821
16. Artem Markelov BWT HWA Racelab 27 + 49.240
17. Guilherme Samaia Campos Racing 28 + 50.818
18. Roy Nissany Trident Racing 28 + 1:11.311
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Reason
DNF. Mick Schumacher Prema Racing 13 Fire Extinguisher
DNF. Yuki Tsunoda Carlin Motorsport 9 Mechanical
DNF. Marino Sato Trident Racing 1 Mechanical
DNF. Robert Shwartzman Prema Racing 0 Accident

Championship Points:

  • Championship points are awarded on the results of the Final Classification of each Sprint Race to the race’s top-ten finishers and their corresponding teams on a 15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 sliding scale.
  • Two bonus points are awarded to the driver finishing in the top-ten (Christian Lundgaard) and their corresponding team (ART Grand Prix) for posting the fastest lap of the race by a top-ten finisher.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • To be advised.

Images and text via FIA Formula 2 Championship

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.