Scott McLaughlin has claimed a clean sweep of the Supercars Championship’s second leg of the Darwin double-header by winning the third and final race of the weekend at Hidden Valley Raceway.

After being outqualified by long-time rival Shane van Gisbergen, McLaughlin once again took advantage of starting on the cleaner side of the track to outdrag van Gisbergen down to the first corner.  The Red Bull Holden Racing driver had a poor launch, falling to third behind the Brad Jones Racing Holden of Nick Percat.

Once in front, the DJR Team Penske driver never looked back.  He made his compulsory pit stop early on, cruising to victory by a hefty 13.8 seconds to extend his lead in the Drivers’ Championship standings to 177 points over van Gisbergen’s teammate Jamie Whincup who could only finish in seventh.

While McLaughlin had an ultimately lonely race at the front, the fight for the remaining podium positions was intense.

Percat held second place ahead of van Gisbergen before his pit stop, and after his tyre change Scott Pye’s Team 18 Holden joined the fray.

Pye’s teammate Mark Winterbottom ran an alternate strategy by making his pit stop late in the race.  His fresher rubber gave him a huge pace advantage late in the race, allowing him to overtake Chaz Mostert and then van Gisbergen – with a bit of a bump on the latter that avoided any sanction from the stewards – to claim fourth place behind Pye who claimed back-to-back podium finishes.

2020 Australian Supercars Championship Darwin Triple SuperSprint – Race 18 Final Classification (38 laps)
Pos Driver Team Result
1. Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team 44:06.290
2. Nick Percat R&J Batteries + 13.835
3. Scott Pye DEWALT Racing + 14.817
4. Mark Winterbottom IRWIN Racing + 16.423
5. Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team + 18.367
6. Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United Mobil 1 TM Appliances + 19.622
7. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team + 19.966
8. Andre Heimgartner Kelly Racing NED Whisky Racing + 20.299
9. Anton de Pasquale Penrite Racing + 20.847
10. David Reynolds Penrite Racing + 24.888
11. Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team + 27.703
12. Lee Holdsworth Truck Assist Racing + 28.070
13. Jack Le Brocq Supercheap Auto Racing + 28.459
14. James Courtney Boost Mobile Racing + 30.013
15. Todd Hazelwood Brut Military Grade + 33.845
16. Garry Jacobson Yellow Cover Racing + 34.552
17. Bryce Fullwood Walkinshaw Andretti United Mobil 1 TM Middy’s Racing + 36.054
18. Macauley Jones Team CoolDrive + 39.415
19. Chris Pither Team SYDNEY + 43.344
20. Alex Davison Local Legends Racing + 44.253
21. Zane Goddard UNIT Racing + 45.163
22. Rick Kelly Kelly Racing Castrol Racing + 52.838
23. Jack Smith SCT Motor Sports + 54.164
Not Classified Team Result
DNF. Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing + 21.390

Post-Race Penalties:

  • Fabian Coulthard was issued a 5-second time penalty for a driving standards infringement.

Image via

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.