Formula 1 has confirmed that its 2020 championship season will conclude with a return to Turkey, a double-header in Bahrain and a final Grand Prix in Abu Dhabi.

The announcement of the sport’s return to Turkey is the biggest surprise among the announcements, with the widely-lauded but poorly attended Istanbul circuit ending its eight-year hiatus on the calendar.

The Bahrain International Circuit will become the third venue this year after the Red Bull Ring and Silverstone to host a pair of Grands Prix, with the Bahrain Grand Prix and Sakhir Grand Prix running on consecutive weekends before a trip across the Persian Gulf to Abu Dhabi to conclude a 17-race season.

Details of the double-header in Bahrain are still to be finalised, however it is expected that the second race could take place on a different layout of the Bahrain International Circuit.  The venue eschewed its traditional layout in 2010, running on its longer ‘Endurance Circuit’ in 2010 which did not prove popular with drivers or fans.

These races confirmation all but confirms the cancellation of this year’s Chinese and Vietnam Grands Prix, both of which were initially postponed due to the Coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic.

“We can confirm that Turkey, Bahrain, and Abu Dhabi will be part of the revised season and want to express our thanks to the hard work of all our promoters and partners in making this 17-race season possible,” a statement from Formula 1 reads.

2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship Season Calendar
Date Event Location
05 JUL au Austrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
12 JUL au Styrian Grand Prix Red Bull Ring, Spielberg
19 JUL au Hungarian Grand Prix Hungaroring, Mogyoród
02 AUG au British Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
09 AUG au 70th Anniversary Grand Prix Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone
16 AUG au Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Montmeló
30 AUG au Belgian Grand Prix Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Stavelot
06 SEP au Italian Grand Prix Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza
13 SEP au Tuscan Grand Prix Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello, Scarperia e San Piero
27 SEP au Russian Grand Prix Sochi Autodrom, Sochi
11 OCT au Eifel Grand Prix Nürburgring, Nürburg
25 OCT au Portuguese Grand Prix Autódromo Internacional do Algarve, Portimão
01 NOV au Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari, Imola
15 NOV it Turkish Grand Prix Intercity İstanbul Park, Tuzla
29 NOV it Bahrain Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
06 DEC it Sakhir Grand Prix Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
13 DEC au Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi
Cancelled Events due to COVID-19 Pandemic
Date Event Location
15 MAR au Australian Grand Prix Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
05 APR Vietnamese Grand Prix Hanoi Street Circuit, Hanoi
19 APR cn Chinese Grand Prix Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
03 MAY au Dutch Grand Prix Circuit Zandvoort, Zandvoort
24 MAY au Monaco Grand Prix Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
07 JUN az Azerbaijan Grand Prix Baku City Circuit, Baku
14 JUN au Canadian Grand Prix Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montréal
28 JUN au French Grand Prix Circuit Paul Ricard, Le Castellet
20 SEP au Singapore Grand Prix Marina Bay Sreet Circuit, Singapore
11 OCT au Japanese Grand Prix Suzuka International Racing Couse, Suzuka
25 OCT au United States Grand Prix Circuit of the Americas, Austin
01 NOV au Mexico City Grand Prix Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City
15 NOV au Brazilian Grand Prix Autódromo José Carlos Pace, São Paulo

Image via Red Bull Content Pool

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.