Jamie Whincup claimed back-to-back race victories at the Townsville SuperSprint round, winning this weekend’s second race from Chaz Mostert and Shane van Gisbergen.

The Red Bull Holden Racing driver had another untroubled lights-to-flag drive to his victory – the twelfth of his career at the Reid Park circuit – after converting pole position into an early lead.

He pulled clear to the tune of over six seconds to Mostert by the time he made his compulsory pit stop on Lap 22, and while Mostert was able to use his fresh tyres to cut much of the deficit to Whincup the WAU Holden driver was unable to seriously threaten him at any stage.

Behind the leading pair, there was a considerable gap back to Whincup’s teammate Shane van Gisbergen in third.  The New Zealander deserved plaudits for a hard-charging drive forced upon him by a poor qualifying performance earlier in the day.  By opting for a late tyre top, van Gisbergen gave himself better tyre grip on his second stint to catch and pass the likes of the Ford trio of Scott McLaughlin, Cameron Waters and James Courtney to claim the final step on the podium.

Saturday podium finisher Waters finished fourth ahead of Nick Percat (BJR Holden), while McLaughlin once again had to put in the hard yards to finish sixth after qualifying a poor 13th-fastest.

Although a hat-trick is less likely given he starts the final race of the weekend from pole position, the DJR Team Penske driver can ill afford a third race finishing behind Whincup, having seen his lead to the seven-time title-winner in the Drivers’ Championship standings now cut to 109 points.

Courtney fell to seventh thanks to a persistent rear locking issue on his Tickford Racing Ford, while the Erebus Holdens of Anton de Pasquale and David Reynolds sandwiched Team 18’s Scott Pye in completing the top ten.

2020 Australian Supercars Championship Townsville SuperSprint I – Race 20 Final Classification (39 laps)
Pos Driver Team Result
1. Jamie Whincup Red Bull Holden Racing Team 49:17.467
2. Chaz Mostert Walkinshaw Andretti United Mobil 1 TM Appliances + 3.014
3. Shane van Gisbergen Red Bull Holden Racing Team + 16.131
4. Cameron Waters Monster Energy Racing + 20.439
5. Nick Percat R&J Batteries + 23.789
6. Scott McLaughlin Shell V-Power Racing Team + 24.365
7. James Courtney Boost Mobile Racing + 28.637
8. Anton de Pasquale Penrite Racing + 29.104
9. Scott Pye DEWALT Racing + 29.839
10. David Reynolds Penrite Racing + 30.222
11. Lee Holdsworth Truck Assist Racing + 31.298
12. Jack Le Brocq Supercheap Auto Racing + 31.833
13. Todd Hazelwood Team Black Duck + 33.564
14. Andre Heimgartner Kelly Racing NED Whisky Racing + 34.381
15. Fabian Coulthard Shell V-Power Racing Team + 39.634
16. Garry Jacobson Yellow Cover Racing + 41.489
17. Mark Winterbottom IRWIN Racing + 43.741
18. Macauley Jones Team CoolDrive + 43.944
19. Bryce Fullwood Walkinshaw Andretti United Mobil 1 TM Middy’s Racing + 45.719
20. Rick Kelly Kelly Racing Castrol Racing + 47.010
21. Zane Goddard UNIT Racing + 52.108
22. Alex Davison Local Legends Racing + 52.491
23. Jack Smith SCT Motor Sports + 54.433
24. Chris Pither Team SYDNEY + 55.237

Post-Race Penalties:

  • None.

Image via Motorsport.com

The following two tabs change content below.

Geoff Burke

Journalist at MotorsportM8
Site co-founder. Social Media guru. All-round trouble-maker.