Néstor Girolami scored a convincing victory in Race 1 at the FIA WTCR Race of Belgium, the Argentine leading the reverse-grid Race 1 all the way at Zolder.

Girolami started from pole position in his ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport Honda Civic Type R TCR and worked hard on Goodyear’s new WTCR tyres to keep ahead of Thed Björk, whose Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 03 TCR chased him throughout the 13 laps.

Hungarian Attila Tassi scored his first WTCR podium in third place for the ALL-INKL.DE Münnich Motorsport Honda team.

“Congratulations to everyone in the team, they did a fantastic job in the long wait for this season to begin,” said Girolami, whose victory marks his fourth in WTCR. “To get a victory now is a good present for the mechanics. I’d like to dedicate this to my little baby and my wife.”

Björk, third on the grid, made a strong start to get ahead of front-row starter Jean-Karl Vernay, the Frenchman slipping back to fifth in his first WTCR start in Team Mulsanne’s Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce TCR by Romeo Ferraris. Vernay would remain fifth at the flag, behind WTCR Trophy winner Tom Coronel, who achieved fourth place in his first race driving Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport’s Audi RS 3 LMS.

Björk said he was delighted to score a podium after the long delay to the season, in a race that showed an increase in lap times in the closing stages on the new Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport tyres. “It is fantastic to be back in the car and racing, and to get a podium after the long pre-season. This track is hard on the cars and there was some oil that made it difficult.”

Tassi was equally pleased with his first WTCR podium finish. “I wasn’t expecting this,” he said. “My aim is to learn from my experienced teammates, so a 1-3 is a great result for the team.”

But there were dramas for the other Münnich Hondas. Esteban Guerrieri’s race ended on lap three in a cloud of smoke while he was running eighth, while Tiago Monteiro also retired in a similar fashion on lap eight. He was in P14 at the time.

Santiago Urrutia scored a strong sixth place for Cyan Performance on his WTCR debut in the Lynk & Co 03 TCR, ahead of Yann Ehrlacher’s Lynk & Co and the Frenchman’s uncle Yvan Muller.

WTCR Trophy contender Nathanaël Berthon, who starts Race 2 from pole position, was ninth in his Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport Audi RS 3 LMS after a duel with teammate and top FIA Rookie Award runner Gilles Magnus.

Reigning WTCR champion Nobert Michelisz was the best of the Hyundais in his BRC Hyundai N LUKOIL Squadra Corse entry in P11. The other points scorers were FIA Rookie Award entry Luca Engstler who was P12 in his Engstler Hyundai N Liqui Moly Racing Team Hyundai i30 N TCR, Dutchman Nicky Catsburg for Engstler Hyundai N Liqui Moly Racing Team Hyundai, 2018 WTCR title winner Gabriele Tarquini in P15 and Zengő Motorsport Cupra driver Mikel Azcona in P16.

Australian Dylan O’Keeffe finished thirteenth in his first WTCR start driving Vuković Motorsport’s Renault Mégane RS TCR, however is ineligible to earn championship points as a wildcard entry.

2020 FIA WTCR Race of Belgium – Race 1 Final Classification (13 laps)
Driver Team / Entry Laps Result
1. Néstor Girolami ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 13 21:17.425
2. Thed Björk Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 13 + 1.127
3. Attila Tassi ALL-INKL.DE Münnich Motorsport 13 + 1.844
4. Tom Coronel Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport 13 + 2.072
5. Jean-Karl Vernay Team Mulsanne 13 + 4.632
6. Santiago Urrutia Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 13 + 6.050
7. Yann Ehrlacher Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 13 + 6.674
8. Yvan Muller Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 13 + 7.382
9. Nathanaël Berthon Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport 13 + 7.794
10. Gilles Magnus Comtoyou Racing 13 + 12.585
11. Norbert Michelisz BRC LUKOIL Squadra Corse 13 + 15.513
12. Luca Engstler Engstler Liqui Moly Racing Team 13 + 16.085
13. Dylan O’Keeffe (WC) Vuković Motorsport Renault Logo 2020 13 + 18.135
14. Nicky Catsburg Engstler Liqui Moly Racing Team 13 + 21.572
15. Gabriele Tarquini BRC LUKOIL Squadra Corse 13 + 23.527
16. Mikel Azcona Zengő Motorsport Services KFT 13 + 25.323
17. Bence Boldizs Zengő Motorsport Services KFT 13 + 31.621
18. Luca Filippi (WC) Team Mulsanne 13 + 34.240
19. Gábor Kismarty-Lechner Zengő Motorsport Services KFT 13 + 50.562
20. Jack Young be Vuković Motorsport Renault Logo 2020 12 + 1 lap
Not Classified Team / Entry Laps Reason
DNF. Tiago Monteiro ALL-INKL.DE Münnich Motorsport 7 Engine
DNF. Esteban Guerrieri ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport 2 Engine

Championship Points:

  • The top fifteen classified finishers (excluding wildcard entries) and their respective teams are awarded championship points on a 25-20-16-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 sliding scale.

Post-Race Penalties:

  • To be advised.

Images and text via FIA WTCR Media

The following two tabs change content below.

Richard Bailey

Founder & Chief Editor at MotorsportM8
Hasn't missed a Grand Prix since 1989. Has a soft spot for Minardi. Tattooed with 35+ Grand Prix circuits.